I'm afraid I'm making a HUGE mistake

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jkayet

New Yorker
Ok, so I finished my masters and now I"m looking for a job in a city where I used to live (currently staying with parents as I try to sort out job/home). I've heard from many, and remember from my time in this city, that you really need to live there to get a job there. So...I'm about to make a decision to just move first, then look for a job. I've potentially found a great place to live, albeit expensive. Very. But the whole city is...it's not a bad deal considering what I'm getting really. I've seen some scary options in the past week. Anyway, while everyone who knows my background seems to think I shouldn't have a problem finding a job once I'm here, I'm rather petrified. I have some faith in it working out, but once I commit to paying an insane amount of money for rent every month, without a job...but, it's a double-edged sword - I likely won't get a job unless I pay the rent. I plan on being here for a while too, once I do get a job, so I might as well take a good find when I find it. Right? Argh. Anyway, have people done this before with good outcomes? Does it seem a bit crazy? But if I don't do it, am I doomed to a life of job hunting all day at my parents' house in rural America?

rural america :mad:...at least you have a "somewhat big city" with in 20 minutes.

I haven't moved to a city without a job offer (or school) first. I have thought about it...and would. You should. I know where/what you speak of, and I am confident that you will find a job in the city you are going to. (Or, at least I THINK I know what you are talking about...we should catch up!)

yes, you do Jeff. :)
And maybe it's not 'rural' but after London, it's pretty close. ;)

I probalby shouldn't have even posted this, I was just panicking. I still am, but that's...just...expected, I suppose.