How do you feel about your career choice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zuropa_fit

Blue Crack Addict
I posted this in my blog but I thought it might make for interesting conversation.

I've been a high school teacher of 13 years - 10 at the same school. I used to LOVE my job - I mean LOVE it. Yes there were frustrations but the kids, the daily challenges, I loved them.

This fall, when school started, I wasn't thrilled to go back - it was hard. And today, after 2 weeks off, it was so hard to go back. Once I'm there, I'm fine. I'm not unhappy doing my job most of the time, almost all of the time. But I don't think I love it anymore. And that makes me sad.

I just wonder if I was spoiled all those years, when I was young and loved it. And maybe this is how everyone feels about their job, as a means to an end, a way to pay the bills. And I"m sure there are people out there who hate their jobs and are cursing me right now.

And I'm not talking about teens who are baggers at the grocery store or who work at some trendy mall store. I'm actually curious to hear from "grown ups" who have careers. Do you love it? Do you like it? Do you tolerate it? Do you hate it?

My principal says "The day you dread coming to work is the day you should find a new job." I don't think I'm there yet, but I wonder if that day is peeking out over the horizon.

Trouble is... I'm not trained to do much else. I have a BFA in Theatre Education and a MA in Directing - kinda educated for a single career.

Thanks for reading my ramble - and I'd love to hear your thoughts on your career.