Any teachers out there: I need your help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

maycocksean

Rock n' Roll Doggie Band-aid
I'm a teacher--I teach middle school language and have been teaching professionally for 8 years.

i've got this student and I don't know what to do next. She's a sweetheart, but very, very slow.

I've been working on her one-on-one with her grammar assignments, but even with my help, she just can't seem to pass her test on the unit we're working on. In grammar, I teach to mastery, so they stick with the material until they pass the test. Most students will pass pretty quickly on their first or second try usually. Exceptionally bright students test out quickly and move on ahead on their own, giving me more time with students like this one.

Well she's taken a test on this material (complements) like four times and while she's getting marginally better, it is happening very, very slowly. She still hasn't passed a test (her most recent and best score was a 56%). It's like she can't hold the information in her head for very long, and she forgets so quickly. To make it harder for her--though she takes in stride--there is only one other girl in 7th grade, and this girl is whipping through the material easily. She's finishing Ch.17 while this girl is spinning her wheels at Ch. 13.

So, my question is: What should I do? Should I keep trying to teach her, knowing that it could be months (!) before she passes this one test. And I know it will make her feel bad when she finds out she STILL hasn't passed the test. Or should I say--"Ahh, she'll never get it. On to the next chapter" (which she probably won't get either). Is there something else I can do, some other method I can use to help her grasp the material.

Any teachers that read this. . . I appreciate your advice.