Magic and Mentalism Appreciation Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zooropop40

Refugee
Interference is called Interference because it int
I have been a professional magician and mentalist (mind reader) for the past 5 years.

It is unfortunate that magic has been dumbed down so much in the past 40 years. It is one of the most beautiful art forms, and it really is more for adults than kids. The performance of the impossible can be poetic, artistic, and sometimes life changing. Unfortunately there are only a few performers however that are artistic, and I am hoping to share and discuss them here as well as perhaps introducing many of you to some beautiful performances (one of them even set to a U2 song).

Magic is not real, and psychic powers are debatable. But magic has never really been about convincing anyone of anything "real" but it has also never been about "tricks." Magic is about creating uncertainty. We have tons of uncertainty in our life, and magic shows us that things are not necessarily what we might have expected them to be. Magic reflects our hopes, dreams, impossibilities, and our own uncertainties. If you think about it, the idea is actually quite beautiful... performing something thought to be impossible.

This thread is not about discussing methods and secrets, but I hope rather for appreciation. Please dont try to reveal what you think a method might be, and you will probably be wrong anyways.

Here are a few of my favorite illusions/ performances/ etc...

1. Derren Brown. - The best mentalist and hypnotist alive today (in my opinion). If you have not seen him.. I guarantee he is unlike any "magic" you have ever seen. Truly fascinating and thought provoking.

YouTube - Derren Brown - Subliminal Advertising

YouTube - Derren Brown - Person Swap

YouTube - Derren Brown - Trains... Of thought

YouTube - derren brown zombie