Weather Discussion Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Oregoropa

Rock n' Roll Doggie Band-aid
Interesting weather discussions have popped up in other threads and they are worth talking about as newsworthy items

I have a degree in Meteorology and am watching closely what is going on with Hermine in the Gulf. We haven't had a category 3 hurricane make landfall in the US in over a decade. One of the longest stretches in recorded history. Hermine is likely to come in as Category 1 Hurricane in Florida tonight and the weaken to tropical storm status as it rides up through Georgia and Carolinas.

What makes Hermine interesting is that once it reemerges off the Mid-Atlantic it will stall out and become a Hurricane again. This will place it 50-100 miles off the NJ coast for potentially 3 days. It won't make landfall like Sandy, but the constant tidal surge over 72 hours will devastate beaches from Rhode Island to Virginia. The water is extremely warm this year in that area and can provide the fuel to keep Hermine healthy.

Feel free to shoot any questions. If you are a weather junkie I can post some good links.

Stay Safe
-O

Sent from my iPhone using U2 Interference

Oh I like this thread. We were just having a debate at work about whether Floridians were blowing the current situation out of proportion. I saw a great quote backing up my side yesterday, something akin to, "just because the winds are 70 miles an hour rather than 75,doesnt make them any less dangerous."

Sent from my SM-G935T using U2 Interference mobile app

The building I live in is a block from the East River, technically below sea level, and took on extensive damage during Hurricane Sandy... so the predictions regarding the storm stalling out off the coast has me very worried.