Zoo Station...?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GibsonGirl

ONE love, blood, life
I just have a little question about playing Zoo Station (live versions mainly).

In the intro, right after Edge slides down the fretboard, one can hear what sounds like very high pitched notes played in succession. I don't know if Edge is playing it live (have to watch Zoo TV again), or if it's pre-recorded, but I think I know what's going on there. A little while ago, I was playing the song on my Explorer as usual, without the little squeaks added in. By accident, I struck the A-string (with my left hand muting the string) in that little section between the lower half of the bridge and the uh...raised area of the strings (I'm not good with guitar lingo, I just play the damn things :wink: so here's a picture describing what I'm talking about http://xoomer.virgilio.it/flursich/forsale/gibson-lpc-1970-nylon_bridge.jpg ). I noticed that it gave a sound almost identical to the Zoo TV version of Zoo Station. And if you play the G-string in the exact same spot with standard tuning, it sounds like the version from the opening night of the Vertigo tour.

So my question is, is this "technique" as I guess you'd call it, really how Edge is getting that sound? Or is he doing something completely different?

Last edited:
He could possibly be doing that or playing some heavily muted harmonics.

btw, your link is dead

It's a combination of backing tracks and a muted A at fret 5 on the low E string. He gets the twangy notes in between the muted notes by picking right at the bridge.

Ladera Heights said:
He gets the twangy notes in between the muted notes by picking right at the bridge.

yes, thats it.

with a les paul...like he uses there is a space between the bridge and the where the string starts.....whatever you want to call it.

mkdominatr said:

yes, thats it.