Wanting to get into guitar playing, never played before need some suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

goincommando

The Fly
I've never played a guitar more than fiddling around with ones lying around at friends' house or other places, but I'm wanting to start playing and practicing for real. I'm thinking I'll buy my first guitar later this year, but I have no idea what's good, what's not, what's easy for a total beginner and what I should steer clear of.

I was thinking about just self teaching, buying a few "Guitar for Beginners" chord books and the like and trying it out for myself, since I'm pretty good with self motivation and don't necassarily need some punk tutor looking for some extra cash.

Right now I'm just looking for beginner guitar recommends, I'll get into all the distortion, delay and more advanced stuff later on. I'm really in the dark right now so all and any help is great.

Last edited:
Goin, get yourself a good, not to expensive, steel stringed acoustic. Ask someone you know to help or ask in the store, they'll certainly help you out. Or buy a second hand one...
It's harder to learn on an acoustic (harder to press the strings to the fretboard, an electric is softer in that way) but it' ll pay off later...
Learn basic open chords...do a search on google and you'll find all the info you need to get you busy for the next weeks. There lots of lessons for beginning to play too on the net.
Good luck and have fun

First step is deciding what you want to do. An accoustic guitar gets you through the initial learning but if it's your desire to be in a band it's useless. Also acoustic guitar and electric guitar are essentially two different instruments with different sounds and ways of playing.