Paging all drummers..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

djfeelgood

The Fly
Hey!

I have a Pearl forum kit and for the longest while i've been trying to get the Joshua Tree sound. I have remo pinstripe heads on all my toms. But I can't seem to get the 'dead' sound that Larry mullen has on his kit. (think: with or without you)

I am a novice when it comes to drumming having only been playing for 2 years. How do you tune your drums to change the sound. Specifically, what does tightening the batter head vs resonance head do?

If someone could point out some good drummer websites, or help me out with the tuning, it would be greatly appreciated.

cheers,
Aaron

Hi Aaron,
I see no one has posted a reply yet, so I'll try and help you out. First off, I do not know how advance you are as a drummer, so if I seem like I am talking down to you, I am not. Just trying to cover the bases!
OK, let's get down to it:
-You need to realize that you may not be able to get the exact sound that Larry's kit has during the Joshua Tree era. This is because each drum sounds different and the sound depends on many factors. A Tama maple 16x16 floor tom is going to sound different from a Yamaha maple 16x16 floor tom. So what you need to understand is that your Pearl set may not be able to produce the sound of Larry’s Yamaha Turbo Tour kit from the Joshua Tree tour.
-So the question is what wood is your drum made from? The Turbo Tour kit I believe is made from birch wood and each wood has different sound properties. So if your kit is made from maple, you will have a hard time getting a maple kit to sound like a birch kit. It’s just the way of life in drum world.