newby advise needed on chords and such

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Galeongirl

Galeonbroad
Hello all,
I just started playing acoustic guitar (it's all I have atm, can't afford electric) and am trying some U2 tabs... while I've read that AIWIY is supposed to be the easiest song, I can't seem to get it to sound right :huh: I can do Sunday bloody sunday and miracle drug intros however...
I have a few questions

where do you get your tabs?(what is the best site, most accurate and such)

can somebody give me a basic explanation of chords? since I don't really know what they are :reject:

Which songs are easy to play acoustic for a beginner?

my father tuned my guitar for me, but I'd like to know how to do that myself, can anybody explain that to me if possible?

and last question, for what songs do you need a guitar pic, and what songs are played by hand?

hope you guys can help me with this!

"where do you get your tabs?(what is the best site, most accurate and such?"

i own most of u2's sheet music and tab books, so those help me the most. however, a quick google search will allow to find a tab (you never know how good it'll be though)

"can somebody give me a basic explanation of chords? since I don't really know what they are"

a chord technically is when you play two or more notes together. for example a D chord would look like this:

e--2--
b--3--
g--2--
d--0--
a-----
E-----

"Which songs are easy to play acoustic for a beginner?"

the first song i learned with chords was In God's Country. it's very simple;

the intro and verse is:

D Am

and the chorus is:

Em G D

1) Desire involves easy chords, but requires fast switching between them.
2) One involves chords you probably haven't seen yet, but it sounds great.
3) A Sort of Homecoming is Sunday Bloody Sunday picked differently ;) (although there is a lot more involved, and it can get confusing)