Newbie needs a bit of help (Korg A2 Vs A3)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Antz

Babyface
Hello Everyone,

I've just recently decided that instead of expanding my ever growing set of FX pedals, i should move into the Rack Unit based processors,

now my question is this,

to get an 'edge'-ey sound (ala MW, The Fly, etc) would i be better off getting the A2 or the A3.

Aswell as the technical details that I'm sure i'll get as replies, most importantly I'm looking for information on how easy these are to use in a live situation. Are they both MIDI capable (if you own one/both how are they to live with)

(sorry for the dumb questions, i'm just getting into the rack side of things, i'm just trying to get my head around MIDI at the minute, not to mention efficient Rack Design :p)

Thanks,

Anthony

Edge uses the A3 for those sounds, so naturally using the gear he uses will get you closest to the sound he gets. A3 is Midi capable, duno bout A2.

A2 or A3 alone isn't the key.

You will need the SPC-01 card. That has the sounds for "Mysterious Ways", "Numb", "Lady With The Spinning Head"...

But you can also download those in SYSEX files from korgaseries.org: home.

Check that site. You might find the answer that help your decision.

If I'm not mistaken the A2 doesn't even need the card as it has the cards already stored in memory.

Edge uses the A3, but if you get an A2 soundwise it won't make a difference as long as you have the right presets and figgle around with them a bit. The A3 is a great little thing, just for "Mysterious Ways" it's totally worth it! You won't get that sound anywhere.

As to MIDI: A2 and A3 both are MIDI controlled. I'd recommend the Korg FC6, but it's hard to hunt down nowadays so you might have to either wait it out or look elsewhere.

If I'm not mistaken the A2 doesn't even need the card as it has the cards already stored in memory.