How can I record?? Looking for advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Spiral_Staircase

War Child
I'm no serious musician, but I play some guitar and piano. I've never put much money into my guitar equipment, but I would love to be able to record some multi-track stuff. My brother has an old 4-track he bought 10 years ago that he'd be glad to sell to me, but I feel like technology must be out there for me to just do it on my PC. Here's what I'm after: what's the cheapest way I can record multiple vocal/guitar tracks on my PC? I'm not too concerned about audio quality, I just want to be able to, for example, record a rhythm guitar part, go back and play lead over it, and then record some vocals, then go back and record a harmony part over that? Would it take tons of expensive hardware and software? I'm really quite clueless, but I must be able to put my PC to use musically somehow. I'd really appreciate any ideas/thoughts/advice anyone might have. Thanks.

Mark,
Thanks a lot. Cakewalk Music Creator looks like just what I'm looking for and is in the price range I was hoping for. And the Desktop Music Handbook on that site should give me a bit o' education. Thanks again for your help - it's much appreciated.

If anybody else has some suggestions, please pass them along. I'm still shopping around and always trying to learn. Thanks.

-Tim

Cakewalk is a good program I have Cakewalk Pro Audio 9. If you are interested let me know.

Hey guys,

I posted this in lemonade stand but spiral told me about this post.

What hardware do I need to record onto my mac? I've got a mic, but what do I need to hook that, my guitar to my computer. I've got the midi aspect under control. It's the rest that has me confused.

And what is the advantage to having a hard mixer? Why would you want to control the levels twice?