Guitarists

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

-macphisto-

Refugee
Who of you is self taught? How did you learn guitar, and what or how do you practice?

I'm self taught, been playing for 2 years, and it doesnt seem like Ive been advancing at all. Will guitar lessons really improve my guitar playing?

i've been playing for about 5 years now. in the beginning, i took about 5 lessons, then i just taught myself from then on. i started out with just chords and then the penatonic scales and then playing difficult songs. im at the point now where i can pick up stuff by ear. you just gotta keep practicing and learn to play different songs, non u2. i branched out from U2 after about 2 years and my skills greatly improved.

I have also been playing for 5 years. I started out playing a few notes and some appregio figures(the best thing about Blink 182 being one of your favourite bands, and being your absolute favourite than is that there songs are DAMN easy, and you feel good learnign how to play them).

The first song I ever played was the first 2 notes to "Otherside" by Red Hot Chili Peppers... i just accidently figured it out....

For 5 years I've been playing and Im a solid guitar player. The Edge would be pretty impressed by my skills (and by impressed I mean laughing hysterically...).

LoL. JMScoopy said it all about how to learn. Practice lots and lots!

i've been playing for 4 years, taking lessons most of that time :up:

i used to practice a lesson of some form like such and such scale etc, now i'm to the point where my teacher will show me some musical concept at my lesson and i try and play with that during the week etc.

I teach myself ... i had lessons for about 6 months because i was doing constant music exams for school so i had to get to a decent standard of playing ... i found the best way to learn and to train your ear is to always play scales