B-Side U2: 'Medium, Rare and Remastered'

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

IrelandCalling4

Babyface
I'm only beginning to discover B-Side U2; B-Sides are or can be amazing; almost an alternate recording history of a favourite band. And more often than not, it's mostly the fans that hear these, an extra layer the fans can enjoy - released on singles, but obscure in a way as casuals don't seek them out.

Most here I'm sure are exceptionally knowledgeable on B Side '2, thus I will ask opinion; best B-Sides? Album with most B-Sides?

I managed to acquire the excellent 'Medium, Rare and Remastered' - I'd heard a few of these, but many were new to me. 'Native Son' for instance, early version of Vertigo; the tracks from sessions up to then unreleased. Quality was quite high throughout the 20 track; a very interesting track was 'Always' - out of it came 'Beautiful Day' o course; fascinating as a glimpse into U2. 'Always' had a great ascending chord pattern, the song itself was so-so, not great, though it sounds like a finished, completed take. Out of it came an even better song.

I have the 'Achtung Baby' disc of B-Sides, 'Salome' was always a top favourite of mine.

It seems AB may have had the most B-Sides? HTDAAB, as far as I can see, only had 3? I'm not counting remixes, just non-album original songs.

This is the beginning of my journey into B-Side '2, looking forward to giving 'Medium, Rare, Remastered' another spin tonight!

Recommendations are very welcome :)

Enjoy the discovery, U2 has some really great b-sides in their catalog. The Rattle and Hum era has some of my favorite b-sides.

Sent from my iPhone using U2 Interference

Hello and welcome

the Best of 80's - 90s or whatever it was called had some really good b sides if you got the double disk. At least from what i recall...been a while since i bought that.