Bono is a crappy guitar player...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tabmanmatt

The Fly
I mean, I love the guy but...I really believe he only plays the guitar onstage to either (A) look cooler or (B) have his own rhythm in his "in-ears"...

Sorry I'm a musician so I love analyzing this stuff!

It changes from song to song. Some songs he serves no purpose on whatsoever. Others he plays a pretty important part. I'll give him credit: he's doing a lot more on The Fly this tour than he ever has (playing along with Adam after the chorus is a really nice touch).

This is not news....in fact, you might be the first to put the words Bono, guitar, and player in the same sentence. :)

It changes from song to song. Some songs he serves no purpose on whatsoever. Others he plays a pretty important part. I'll give him credit: he's doing a lot more on The Fly this tour than he ever has (playing along with Adam after the chorus is a really nice touch).

It's quite funny on the 'Glastonbury Fly', at one point i think Bono forgets which chord he's supposed to be playing and quickly goes from an A to a G, or something, then does my trick of just fumbling for any old chord

On the Vertigo tour live dvd, his guitar is way up in the mix for "The Fly" to the point it ruins the song.

Brian Eno has said that Bono has become a better guitar player over the years and that he actually has some good ideas. Now i kind off agree with you some times i cant make out what Bono is playing, And sometimes i can. I know what he is playing during No Line,The Fly and now i understand what he is playing in One.

I heard Bono's guitar in every song he had it on for over the last 3 shows. I think he adds to The Fly, for example.

Yup, and on the early 2010 shows his added solo to One was a very nice touch. :up: