Wit's end - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2007, 09:00 PM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:08 AM
Wit's end

I've got an annoying issue and I'm at my wit's end. Start from the beginning - I got a new laptop in January. It has a 7-pin S-Video out and a VGA out. I've downloaded some movies and shows and usually watch them with Phil using the VGA-out to his 22 inch wide screen monitor (bigger than our TV).

This past week I was on vacation. My mom had a list of my movies she wanted to watch, so I told her I'd figure out how to hook up the comp to an actual TV. The VCRs only had S-video out, so I went to WalMart and got a box that converts 4 sources into a single source. All 4 ins and the out have RCA and an S-video connection.

The problem is this, when I connect my S-video into the switch box as IN1 and use RCA to the TV as OUT, the computer doesn't recognize it's connected to a display. I know that when connecting via VGA I use my function commands to change displays, but a friend told me using the S-video I have to go into the graphics card properties and change it to the second display. When I'm using the box, it doesn't give me the option of selecting the second display. Now I'm quite sure this works because before I had connected my S-video from the comp to my VCR and the computer beeped (the "new hardware" beep) and I briefly had the option of choosing a second display. It didn't actually work because the S-video port on my VCR is an out, not an in, duh.

I've googled and googled, using general terms or the specific models of my computer, the graphics accelerator, the input box, etc and can't find any info. Is it just that the box makes it so the comp won't detect the display and that's the end of it?

We never did get to watch movies, so now I'm trying to decide whether to sell this dumb thing or keep trying.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 09:10 PM   #2
Fan & Taper
 
Chrisedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,241
Local Time: 11:08 PM
Your problem is the cheap box probably doesn't convert from SVideo to Composite. (many cheap ones don't) You can buy cheap inline adaptors that do the trick.

http://sewelldirect.com/zip-links-videoandrca.asp (is one version)
__________________

__________________
Chrisedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 09:54 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:08 AM
Grrrr, why would it not switch when that's what it offers? S-videos in and RCA out. Can I return something that's open? It came in one of those annoying plastic packages that you have to destroy to get open.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 10:54 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 02:08 AM
For fun, I just tried a DVD from my laptop using the S-video out to S-video in on the TV, and it worked. Not sure why your's doesn't.



I did have to press the presentation button on the laptop to toggle it, and the laptop did recognize the TV. I think the converter maybe prevents it.

Maybe consider a VGA to RCA converter.
__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 02:32 PM   #5
Fan & Taper
 
Chrisedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,241
Local Time: 11:08 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Liesje
Grrrr, why would it not switch when that's what it offers? S-videos in and RCA out. Can I return something that's open? It came in one of those annoying plastic packages that you have to destroy to get open.
Usually they offer "switching" not converting. I know, I have one with all kinds of SVIDEO equipment, but I just use all the compsites for the switching.

I'm sure you can return it as long as you bought it from a "normal" store. 30 days is the standard return policy for most places.
__________________
Chrisedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 08:09 PM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:08 AM
I'll try to return it, I saved the receipt, except we don't have a WalMart in this city (strangely enough).

A friend told me about these boxes and said it worked great for him. I guess he bought a more expensive one that does it all.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com