wireless router questions - Page 2 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2009, 11:07 PM   #16
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,700
Local Time: 12:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liesje View Post
If you connect your laptop directly to the modem, can you use Internet without it cutting out?
Yep!

Quote:
Originally Posted by VintagePunk View Post
Cori, once it disconnects, does it ever reconnect on its own without you having to do anything?
Nope!

My connection with the laptop plugged directly into the modem works fine, as does the connection if I plug the laptop into the router. It's only when I try to go wireless that I lose the love of my life the internet.

I had dinner with a friend, and she wondered if my previous wireless connectivity was actually me connected to someone else's wireless network. It probably would explain all of this.

I have a hot date with my new bestest friend Leonard tomorrow morning at 9. Here's hoping we're able to consummate our technological relationship, or I will cry. And probably throw something. Possibly the router.

Thanks for the tips you've offered. Based on the setup involved with the router software, it sure looks like it should have been easy.
__________________

__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:01 PM   #17
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:19 AM
If it's anything like mine, it wasn't easy or intuitive. It did not take long, but I do remember there being several steps involved (connecting directly to the modem and configuring that, cloning a MAC address, connecting directly to the router and configuring that, then connecting each computer and configuring them).
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 01:45 PM   #18
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,700
Local Time: 12:19 AM
Another hour and a half on the phone with India, but I now am connected wirelessly. I have a new bestest friend, his name is Kingsly! He finally told me I could hang up the phone, so I puttered around my apartment while he drove my computer.

I guess it had something to do with the drivers for the router.

I'd love to know if the set up for this Linksys router was as easy as it led you to believe from the installation - there was very little I had to do, other than plugging cables, as it automatically configured everything else. so it's surprising to hear there was all this other configuration stuff (like you mention above).

But whatever, it's done. I knew this would be my biggest headache with setting things up. So now I can move forward and roam around my apartment with my laptop! Yay!
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 02:00 PM   #19
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 09:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesseu2 View Post
Lies and GG, any tips on my first problem i mentioned above about having more than one lappy on the wireless at same time? Any settings i should change?
Do you have only one port for wireless open? Check the settings of the router for wireless, you should be able to add more connections.

If that doesn't work, get both your laptop's MAC adresses and manually add them to the router's wireless settings so that both are 'allowed' to connect.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 10:27 PM   #20
Refugee
 
jesseu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 1,984
Local Time: 04:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galeongirl View Post
Do you have only one port for wireless open? Check the settings of the router for wireless, you should be able to add more connections.

If that doesn't work, get both your laptop's MAC adresses and manually add them to the router's wireless settings so that both are 'allowed' to connect.
I do not know how to check how many ports are in there.

ok, sis is coming home tonight, i'll add her MAC address in there..

Under Wireless Settings, Should I change the mode from 'g and b' to 'Auto 108 Mbps' ?
__________________
jesseu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 08:01 PM   #21
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,700
Local Time: 12:19 AM
This has been the most aggravating computer issue I've ever had. Still having wireless issues - I can only connect wirelessly intermittently. It'll be fine for days, and then one day I just can't connect.

I'll be connected to my network with the ethernet cable plugged in, I'll unplug it and it will be fine for a minute or two ... and then it's gone and won't let me reconnect.

Is that just the way of wireless connections? Do I live in a Twilight Zone of an apartment where it's just the luck of the signal draw? I would suspect that signal shouldn't be an issue when I'm sitting right next to the damned router and modem.

God, this is irritating.

Edit: And of course 10 minutes later, it seems to be working fine again. See? Do you see this sort of bullshittery I am having to put up with?

(Oh, woe to the first world problems of me.)
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 09:04 PM   #22
Refugee
 
jesseu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 1,984
Local Time: 04:19 AM
Last week, I put the MAC Addresses of 2 laptops and a itouch into the wireless router and everything works together beautifully!!
__________________
jesseu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 10:45 PM   #23
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,700
Local Time: 12:19 AM
I had a few friends suggest my wireless issues meant I needed to do something specific within the router configurations (like changing the channel or something?).

A few days later I asked someone at work who suggested I just plug my ethernet cable into another port on the back of the router. Which I did, and lo and behold, a few days later, my wireless has only crapped out on me once in the past 48 hours or so.

Not sure if it's something else, or if it's because I tried the cable in another port (not sure why that would work, since it's only an issue when that cable isn't plugged into my laptop), but I am a happy wireless user once again.

Would sure be nice to understand all this junk so I know where to even start when it doesn't work again, though.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 12:14 AM   #24
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,598
Local Time: 02:19 AM
i don't have any suggestions for you, but just wanted to say what they meant by changing the channel. it's just a setting to literally change the channel. the only reason you'd need to do this is if there were problems with interference of the wifi signal. i've personally never had to change this setting.
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 12:16 AM   #25
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,700
Local Time: 12:19 AM
Yeah, that sounds like what they were talking about. It seemed like I was having problems because of a lot of other interfering wifi signals.
__________________

__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
technical support, wireless routers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lyrical questions BonosSaint It's A Musical Journey 6 01-17-2005 03:30 PM
Questions, Anyone? U2Bama Free Your Mind Archive 105 08-30-2002 09:54 PM
Walk On - Chapter 01 - Three Questions For Bono spanisheyes The Goal Is Soul 1 02-09-2002 02:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com