Wireless Network - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2006, 09:27 AM   #1
Blue Crack Supplier
 
waynetravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 36,231
Local Time: 03:43 AM
Wireless Network

how can i link my laptop to my desktop pc through wireless?

i've got a router that is connected to the internet and to my pc with network cable.
it has a wireless ariel and i can get my laptop to connect to the internet via that.

but i can't the laptop to communicate with my desktop pc.



Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
waynetravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 01:11 PM   #2
Refugee
 
Sevikins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NIMCO, where the dead buses go.
Posts: 2,296
Local Time: 10:43 PM
I think in Windows (if you use that), there's a thing where you can set up your own "network"

Start>Settings>Network Connections
On the left it should be "setup a home or small office network". That might help.

Don't forget, I think you have to keep the workgroups both with the same name, or else they can't communicate.

I've got it set up with my laptop and desktop too, so I can share files b/t the two, but sometimes it doesn't work... and sometimes it does.

Hope that helps somewhat.
__________________

__________________
Sevikins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 08:13 AM   #3
The Fly
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 106
Local Time: 09:43 PM
1: Is your laptop wireless ready or do you have a wireless network card.
2: If wireless ready, make sure it is enabled in the BIOS
3: Some wireless ready laptops have a seperate button to turn it on and off......make sure it is on
__________________
mattgerth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 12:13 PM   #4
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:43 PM
I used to do this w/ my laptop, my dad's laptop, and my parent's desktop. I enable file and printer sharing on each computer, went to the Computer Name under System in the Control Panel and put them all in the same workgroup, and then links the folders/printers I wanted to share into the Shared Files folder in the user profiles. This way, we shared music and files, and any computer could print to my dad's printer.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 07:29 AM   #5
Blue Crack Supplier
 
waynetravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 36,231
Local Time: 03:43 AM
i can't get it to connect.

on my pc in the network group it sees this computer and the latop.
but when i check on the laptop theres nothing.

also when i connected my 2 pc together on the network, the setup made a setup disc on to a floppy. and i got it setup that way.
but my laptop doesn't have a floppy.
__________________
waynetravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 10:49 AM   #6
The Fly
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 106
Local Time: 09:43 PM
Did you enable file and print sharing on the laptop? Did you share any folders / files on the laptop?
__________________
mattgerth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 11:25 AM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:43 PM
Don't worry about the setup disk. Just run the same process on both machines.

Once you've done this, so that they're both in the same workgroup, if you open My Computer you should have a Shared Documents folder. You have to put shared things in there, or link to things you want to share (like I share a printer and my external hard drive). Or, you can go to any of your folders, right click on it, and select "Share this folder".
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 11:25 AM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 09:43 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by waynetravis
i can't get it to connect.

on my pc in the network group it sees this computer and the latop.
but when i check on the laptop theres nothing.
Are you using a software firewall? If so, you will need to set it up to allow the IP address of the other PC/laptop through. See if you can ping the other machine, and also try to map a drive using the IP address and folder name. Try to share a folder first.
__________________

__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com