windows xp installation code! help! - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2007, 01:06 PM   #1
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 09:19 AM
windows xp installation code! help!

ok guys, iv got a cd that lets me install windows xp, but iv lost the code for it, can someone give me one i can use? i want to install it on my laptop, thanks guys
__________________

__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 03:29 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 04:19 AM
Install it and then call Microsoft. You're going to want/need a valid license. If you absolutely cannot get one, PM me and I can help you out, but don't used a cracked one b/c it won't validate and you won't receive any security updates or be able to install certain programs.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 02:29 AM   #3
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 09:19 AM
i cant pm you since im not a premium member grr,

i only need it for a laptop which aint gonna ever connect to the net or anything, its for work, cos at the mo its got shitty windows 2000! got everything else a need but windows 2000 sucks big time
__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 08:21 AM   #4
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 04:19 AM
IMO, Windows 2000 is a lot better than XP in more ways than one. If it's an older laptop, XP may just slow it down.

You may as well call Microsoft, b/c even if you had a valid license, you'd still have to call to activate it if you can't connect online.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 09:23 AM   #5
The Fly
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 106
Local Time: 04:19 AM
I ran 2000 on my home PC for 4 years without a re-build and it ran flawlessly, other than taking a long time to boot up. XP on the other hand looks pretty, boots up fast, but I need to do a re-build about once a year.
__________________
mattgerth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:38 PM   #6
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 09:19 AM
i like xp alot better to be honest
__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 03:38 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 04:19 AM
What version of XP are you installing? Is it a clean install (from Microsoft) or bundled discs (comes w/ comp. and has all the other junk on it)?
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 12:53 PM   #8
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 09:19 AM
erm, it came on a disc with my pc
__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 02:25 PM   #9
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 04:19 AM
Oh, then you'll have to call Microsoft. I have codes for Windows XP Pro SP1, SP2, and 64-bit ed, but they're all for "clean" OS installs, so they wouldn't work with the bundled ones that come with computers. Isn't there a product key on the Microsoft sticker on the bottom of the computer?
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 05:03 AM   #10
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 09:19 AM
dont know but thats like in newcastle, im down in portsmouth!
__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 11:09 AM   #11
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 04:19 AM
So, wait, you have a Windows XP disc that was bundled with a computer and want to install it on a different computer? It ma not even work. Typically, when you buy a computer and it comes with an install disc it also has the drivers for that specific computer. If you install it on a different computer, it will install the wrong drivers. You can always get the right drivers by downloading them, but it's a big pain. You have to figure out exactly what devices the computer has and then find a website that offers the right driver. With older computers, I've noticed sometimes the manufacturer's site doesn't offer drivers anymore (or never does in the first place) so you have to search the web or go to driverguide.com.

If you can't get the right code, you're going to have to call Microsoft no matter what. The codes I could give you would not match, so you'd have to call.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 07:49 PM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
Varitek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: on borderland we run
Posts: 16,861
Local Time: 04:19 AM
Speaking of this...I've been wanting to do a clean install of my XP Pro OS, I've got all the driver cds and everything but I can't find my OS CD. I downloaded a version of xp pro student lisence that auto-inserts a validation code, but before I go as far as to use that, is there a way to get my validation code from Dell or Microsoft and install another XP cd using my code? Will calling them get me my code?
__________________
Varitek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 10:15 PM   #13
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 04:19 AM
Varitek, I'm not sure if they're all this way, but my laptop has a Windows sticker on the bottom that gives it's product key. Maybe there's a Windows sticker somewhere on your computer?
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 12:14 AM   #14
Blue Crack Addict
 
Varitek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: on borderland we run
Posts: 16,861
Local Time: 04:19 AM
Ooooooh yes there is. Thanks! So I can install someone else's Windows XP Pro and then enter my ID instead of counting ona bootleg download?
__________________
Varitek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 01:45 PM   #15
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 04:19 AM
Depends. If it's the exact same version, probably. For example, if my friend downloads a Win XP Pro SP2 iso from MSDN, I'd assume that my serial code for the same product would work. But I don't think it will work to use someone else's disc and use a code that came with the computer, not a clean copy of Windows. But, I guess you could try, that's just my guess.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com