Windows 7

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I'm seriously considering upgrading my Vista Home Premium laptop to 7 Home Premium. As a student, I would just have to pay €35 for the upgrade, so that's not a bad deal. I've heard it runs better than Vista, doesn't ask as much if you are really, really sure and again to do what you just wanted to do, everyone, even Windows-sceptics, have been positive about it and I wanted to try it as I might be going to buy it for my PC. Only thing that bothers me is that it requires 16GB (for 32bit) to 20GB (for 64bit) of HDD.
After having seen the differences to Professional I decided that there was nothing I would need, so I would be fine with Home Premium I guess.
Figured that a simple upgrading wouldn't really do the trick. But we all love to re-install Windows and all our favourite programs, don't we? ;)

if you have a 64-bit processor, you should make the effort to go Win7 64-bit. I noticed a huge difference unpacking RAR files.

i think the dreaded network performance issues in vista are gone in win7 (ie streaming video b/w machines), copying over GBs of data, etc.

plus, win7 has directx 11 for upcoming dx11 games. i'm not sure you will be getting dx11 update for vista, let alone winxp.

I like the new taskbar plus GUI improvements like snap, shake, "show desktop", wallpaper slideshow, libraries, pinning, more efficient searching (with results preview), cool aero, etc.