Why am I slowly being kicked off the internet? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2009, 01:42 PM   #1
ONE
love, blood, life
 
snowbunny00774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: londonontario
Posts: 12,298
Local Time: 11:05 AM
Why am I slowly being kicked off the internet?

Why am I slowly being kicked off the internet?

So I regularly visit two other sites. A couple of days ago I went to go to one and it said it was down – which has happened before so I didn’t think anything of it. I tried to visit again yesterday and it was still down. I mentioned this to a friend who also visits the same site and she said there was no problem with it. I tried to access from my home on both my home and work laptops and no dice. This morning I tried to visit the other site I go to and can’t get it to show either. This was from home on my home laptop. When I got to work I tried my work laptop and I still can’t get to it.

So two different laptops, two locations – any theories?
__________________

__________________
snowbunny00774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 01:47 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
mikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Black Lodge
Posts: 24,922
Local Time: 09:05 AM
hmm....do you share/download a lot of music illegally? i've heard that instead of lawsuits, the RIAA is having ISP Providers slow down their users' internet connections.
__________________

__________________
mikal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 01:50 PM   #3
ONE
love, blood, life
 
snowbunny00774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: londonontario
Posts: 12,298
Local Time: 11:05 AM
The second location is at work though - not the same ISP.

and no, I don't - thanks for the theory though
__________________
snowbunny00774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:11 PM   #4
The Fly
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Local Time: 04:05 PM
Try clearing your temporary internet files, history and cookies from the offending computers. Sometimes you get a sort of 'logjam' effect and they just need a good clear out.

Also make sure your system is clean - run a full antivirus scan, plus scans with two reputable anti-spyware programs such as Spybot S&D, Ad-Aware SE, Malwarebytes, etc. Nasties can really interfere with your connection.

Edit: I should point out that if you use a USB drive between computers, it's possible to spread the same infection that way.

And, if you have a login at those sites, ask the admins to re-set your account? Something might have got corrupted, though it's almost impossible for that to happen with two sites at once.

Teddy
__________________
TedUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:35 PM   #5
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 04:05 PM
You could try to contact the site admin, to see if you've been blocked by them for some reason.


I sometimes have problems with specific sites. Ive never been able to find out why.
__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 11:56 PM   #6
New Yorker
 
subnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In God's Cottage Country
Posts: 2,664
Local Time: 10:05 AM
some sites will block access if using IE8 - I have seen this but cannot confirm though...i guess the browser <> server handshake ain't happening.
__________________
subnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 01:05 PM   #7
ONE
love, blood, life
 
snowbunny00774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: londonontario
Posts: 12,298
Local Time: 11:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by subnet View Post
some sites will block access if using IE8 - I have seen this but cannot confirm though...i guess the browser <> server handshake ain't happening.
I haven't updated my browser - would IE update to that itself? I tried ninjacloak last night and was able to get on there - so its definitely a block of some kind...the admin said it wasn't intentional and it turns out I'm not the only one, a couple of other people had it happen too and were able to get on with ninja.

I turned off my modem and router last night hoping that would help but nothing - maybe it's this IE8 thing - how do I tell if that's my browser version?
__________________

__________________
snowbunny00774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com