Uploading/updating Ipod - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2007, 09:57 AM   #1
New Yorker
 
Kiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: mainly in my fantasy land.....ooooo how I wish it were reality
Posts: 2,716
Local Time: 09:13 PM
Uploading/updating Ipod

I'm having issues with my Ipod. I've updated my i-tunes, meaning I've added more songs and I want to transfer them to my Ipod. Alright....so I connected the cord to the computer, plugged my ipod in, and right away it started flashing "DO NOT DISCONNECT" okie dokie, fine. I let it go all night and it's still not done.

I vaguley remember that before I had to click on something on the i-tunes to start the transfer, only nothing came up.

So what am I missing?!!?!??!?!?!

thanks for any help!
__________________

__________________
Kiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:05 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
onebloodonelife's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,106
Local Time: 10:13 PM
When you hook it up, and the screen with the iPod comes up showing how much space you've used for each type of media (music, video, etc.), does it have "Manually manage music" checked?

If so, that would be the problem. You have to drag and drop the music you've added to iTunes over to the iPod logo on the left side of the screen.
__________________

__________________
onebloodonelife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:36 PM   #3
New Yorker
 
Kiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: mainly in my fantasy land.....ooooo how I wish it were reality
Posts: 2,716
Local Time: 09:13 PM
ummmm......i think mines old. I have the original U2 Ipod, so there's no video or anything like that.

when I open I-Tunes it just brings up all my stuff.
__________________
Kiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 02:48 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 11:13 PM
What version of iTunes are you using?

If it's 7.0 or above, the screen that was mentioned up there should pop up. You should see your iPod's photo there and a mess of tabs at the top, regardless if you have video or not.
Then on the bottom, right above the colorful "iPod data used" bar there are a few ticky boxes. You should really click the automatic update so you don't have to worry about this.

I have a similar problem. Every now and then I'll plug in my iPod and nothing will happen. I'll get the taskbar icon indicating that a mass storage device has been inserted, but iTunes does nothing. Then my iPod freezes on the "Do Not Disconnect" screen.
I usually have to shut down iTunes/computer (depending on how much time I have), unplug my iPod, and then reset the iPod by holding down the Menu and Select button for a few seconds.
It took me about a dozen tries for it to reset today.

I wonder if I am doing serious damage to my iPod by unplugging it, but it does nothing if I don't unplug. The screen will just wear out the battery, I guess.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 04:05 PM   #5
New Yorker
 
Kiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: mainly in my fantasy land.....ooooo how I wish it were reality
Posts: 2,716
Local Time: 09:13 PM
yeah I figured it out when I went home for lunch. thanks guys!
__________________
Kiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com