Trouble making a restore disk - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2007, 12:31 AM   #1
A vampire or a victim...
 
VintagePunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In a dry and waterless place
Posts: 55,703
Local Time: 11:31 AM
Trouble making a restore disk

My daughter has had a Toshiba Satellite A200 laptop since Sept. She got one from the store, made a recovery disk immediately, then a few days later we thought we found a hardware quirk (but later found we were wrong) so we returned it to get another one. She hadn't attempted to make a recovery disk on this second computer till now.

When she tries now using the Toshiba recovery disk creator, she gets an error saying "no HDD recovery area! The Toshiba Recovery Disk Creator cannot be launched." We can't find any information online about this error.

1) Does anyone know why this would be happening, and how to correct it?

2) Would the original recovery disk made for the first Toshiba work for this one? It's the exact same model, but the two potential problems I can see is that it's a different copy of Vista with a different key, and that on this second computer, she's partitioned the hard drive, whereas the first computer on which she made the disk hadn't been partitioned.

Thanks for any info anyone might have.
__________________

__________________

Last night they loved you
Opening doors and pulling some strings, angel

VintagePunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 07:58 AM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,555
Local Time: 11:31 AM
I do not know very much about disk partitioning, but that could be the cause of the problem. Most laptops these days have restore partitions where the restore information is stored. Maybe the computer is confused by additional partitions?
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 01:38 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
Reggie Thee Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be...
Posts: 17,689
Local Time: 08:31 AM
It sounds like the new HD doesn't have a recovery partition. You can restart and at boot up hit the F2 button (or whichever button you're supposed to push during boot up) to go into the system configuration and verify there is a recovery partition.

Most likely there is not one on this new HD...
__________________
Reggie Thee Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com