Tricky Network Challenge - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 12:52 PM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 07:09 PM
Tricky Network Challenge

I've got two computers networked together, sharing a DSL connection from a router. Each computer can see the other's shared files, and each says it is connected to the internet (according to XP's Network Connection screen).

Both computers worked fine through Sunday. Monday morning, we find that one computer cannot access the internet (Firefox and Thunderbird do not connect). No settings were changed and both still "see" eachother.

I've repaired the local area connection and there are no indications that the computer isn't connected.

Any ideas how I can get the computer to access the internet?
__________________

__________________
nbcrusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 01:07 PM   #2
ONE
love, blood, life
 
snowbunny00774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: londonontario
Posts: 12,298
Local Time: 11:09 PM
I know nothing really about computers, but I had something similar on Sunday. I could get on the internet with one and not the other. U2man suggested I bring up the command screen and do "ipconfig/renew", and it worked. It has happened again on the same computer and I tried this again and it worked again. No idea why it just happened to the one pc, but hopefully it will help you out too.
__________________

__________________
snowbunny00774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 01:09 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 10:09 PM
Have you repaired the connection? Either right click on the LAN connection in Network Connections and hit Repair, or open a command prompt and enter "ipconfig /release" hit enter, enter "ipconfig /renew" hit enter.

Can you ping any sites like google or interference? (open a command prompt and enter "ping www.google.com" or something like that, hit enter)

You can always try turning the router off for a few seconds and powering it back on. We had a similar problem last week - my dad's laptop randomly would not go online - and we just restarted the router and it was fine.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 01:09 PM   #4
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 07:09 PM
Thanks! I'll give the ipconfig /release - ipconfig/renew a try.

I tried pinging google and it timed out.

I also ran a winsock fix, but that didn't change things either.


As with all things Windows, turning off and on will probably solve the problem.
__________________
nbcrusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 04:58 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 07:09 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by nbcrusader
As with all things Windows, turning off and on will probably solve the problem.
Made it home at lunch. No change after running ipconfig.

Sure enough, I turned the router off for about a minute. Everything worked when I fired it back up.
__________________
nbcrusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 07:58 PM   #6
ONE
love, blood, life
 
snowbunny00774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: londonontario
Posts: 12,298
Local Time: 11:09 PM
Glad you got is sorted...there is nothing more annoying than one working and the other not!
__________________
snowbunny00774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 01:37 AM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
the rockin edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: tomorrow's just an excuse away
Posts: 26,816
Local Time: 09:09 PM
router crashes
__________________
the rockin edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 02:03 PM   #8
ONE
love, blood, life
 
U2Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: at pavel's
Posts: 11,603
Local Time: 04:09 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by snowbunny00774
I know nothing really about computers, but I had something similar on Sunday. I could get on the internet with one and not the other. U2man suggested I bring up the command screen and do "ipconfig/renew", and it worked. It has happened again on the same computer and I tried this again and it worked again. No idea why it just happened to the one pc, but hopefully it will help you out too.
__________________
U2Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 05:07 PM   #9
ONE
love, blood, life
 
snowbunny00774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: londonontario
Posts: 12,298
Local Time: 11:09 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by U2Man



You saw that eh?

__________________

__________________
snowbunny00774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com