Rebooting...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JanuaryStar

Rock n' Roll Doggie FOB
Hello,

I have a question. My sister's computer (Windows ME, I know that says a lot to begin with), has this strange problem since a week or 2 I think.

Whenever we start the computer, and it's fully loaded (so you see the desktop and all), it just reboots, all by itself. And it keeps on doing this over and over and over and over again. Bottomline is, I cannot stay in Windows, not even if I try safe mode or anything.

I first thought it could have been a heat problem, but in BIOS the temperature just seems okay.

I'm not really a computer expert, but I thought maybe some of you might have an idea of what can be the problem? I have a friend who does know a lot about computers, but he is on holiday right now, so I can't ask him. But maybe if it is some technical related problem (like opening the computer up and such) he can help me with it when he returns.

We didn't change anything about the computer at all, it just started to do this weird rebooting thing all by itself.

Any help/advice is highly appreciated!

Do you have some data on the PC that shouldn't be erased? Otherwise I would recommend that you reinstall Windows. Not sure if you can do this with Windows ME without erasing the entire harddrive. I would guess that you can, though.

Find your Windows ME install CD. Put it in the CD tray and let it reboot. If it doesn't boot from the CD you have to go into BIOS and change the settings, so that the CD drive is primary boot drive. Now just reinstall Windows.

How much time do you have when Windows is loaded? A minute, a second, or something in between.

Might be a virus that shuts down your computer all the time.

If you have some time for before the restart go to Start-->Run and type in shutdown -a.

If this doesn't help it's not a virus that forces your computer to shutdown.