Problems With Accessing Sites in Chrome and Firefox - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2012, 11:40 PM   #1
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,720
Local Time: 07:16 PM
Problems With Accessing Sites in Chrome and Firefox

So, I've been having this highly irritating problem in both Chrome and Firefox. (If I recall correctly, this happened to me with IE as well, but not as often.)

Sometimes, randomly, the browser will not let me on to Facebook. I get this message:



If I click "proceed anyway," it doesn't take me to Facebook. Sometimes it even takes me somewhere else, like the Google home page. This happens way too frequently. I've tried using http://www.facebook and also with https://, thinking it was a secure site issue. Nope.

Now, I will sometimes get errors on this site, and on another site I frequent, where it will just stop letting me click to another page.



Sometimes the access issues coincide, other times I can get on Facebook but not Interference or Jezebel.com. It's only these three sites where I've had the issue.

It is seriously irritating. Help?

I don't think it's an issue with my security software (ESET Smart Security), as I've been using that for a long time now and this is a recent issue.
__________________

__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 01:40 PM   #2
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
Rachel D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Under a Pile of Words
Posts: 5,832
Local Time: 09:16 PM
I use Safari and that happens on a regular basis. It drives me nuts! It usually says "Safari can't verify the address www.facebook.com" or something similar, even if I'm not on Facebook. If I press "continue," then it takes me to an error message; if I go back, then the site works again. It happens on Interference, where I get a page with a panda on it that says "Oops!" If I go back, then it's fine again, except on Facebook, where it just says "Invalid URL." I read somewhere that if it does this, you can type www.www.facebook.com and it will let you go there anyway. It seems to work most of the time.

Sometimes it's like the site I'm trying to visit has been eaten by another site. The other day, I wanted to use Google, but I got a page that said something about Wikimedia. It's also happened with eBay, Facebook, and Amazon.

So if anyone knows what causes all this and how to fix it, I would also very much like to know.
__________________

__________________
Rachel D. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:03 PM   #3
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,720
Local Time: 07:16 PM
Hmm, interesting. I'll try your "cheat" to get around it.

The worst is when I've typed up a long reply to someone here on the Blue Crack, and when I go to post, I get the "invalid URL" business, and then I'm all ARRRRRGHHHHHH FUCK YOU, COMPUTER!
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:23 PM   #4
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,720
Local Time: 07:16 PM
That trick didn't work.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:25 PM   #5
Blue Crack Distributor
 
bono_212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 81,104
Local Time: 07:16 PM
I'm mostly wondering why you were looking up "democracy porn"...
__________________
bono_212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:25 PM   #6
The Male
 
LemonMelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollywoo
Posts: 65,805
Local Time: 07:16 PM
Bill Clinton sex tape?
__________________


Now.
LemonMelon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:28 PM   #7
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 04:16 AM
Did you run a full malware scan? If that's not it, perhaps the security settings are too strict.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:28 PM   #8
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,720
Local Time: 07:16 PM
Ha! It was an article on Jezebel.com about the new Lincoln movie.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:29 PM   #9
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,720
Local Time: 07:16 PM
When I renewed my ESET subscription, it was a whole new version and I honestly don't even know where to look to see if something needs to be adjusted in its settings.

Or if it's a setting within the browser that needs to be changed.
__________________

__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com