Pop ups / Virus - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2008, 05:19 PM   #1
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 06:49 PM
crys Pop ups / Virus

So I'm an idiot and was downloading music and it wouldnt play a song and it told me to download some program and since then I've been getting pop ups every time I get online. I deleted the program, ran ad aware, spy bot and norton and I'm still getting the pop ups. Any idea what else I can do?
__________________

__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 06:21 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:49 PM
Depends on what virus it is. There is a newer worm out that does a lot of popups. Our security manager has researched it an submitted files to Symantec/Norton, but so far our only permanent working solution has been to reinstall the operating system. For starters, I would do a System Restore. Always run scans in Safe Mode if you aren't already.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 06:33 PM   #3
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 06:49 PM
Christ you gotta be kidding me.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 07:09 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
sue4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: hatching some plot, scheming some scheme
Posts: 6,628
Local Time: 09:49 PM
I'm so afraid of uploading music, movies etc.
My first real crash happend just after HTDAAB was released.
I was in iTunes when it crashed..
Maybe it will be better when I get really good antivirus installed.
who knows..
__________________
sue4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 08:11 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:49 PM
Did the System Restore help? I don't know if that works or not b/c the computer I worked on that had the new virus had System Restore disabled.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 08:34 PM   #6
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 06:49 PM
I dont even know what System Restore does. If it involves having to wipe my system or re-install my programs, I'm not down.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 10:34 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:49 PM
omg, System Restore is the greatest thing ever! It restores the system back to a previous state, of your choosing. I think most computers automatically add a restore point before every Windows update, which are many. It will not touch files like documents, pictures, music, etc. I used it just the other day b/c I installed some trial software that effed up my computer. I just restored it back to the way it was the day before I installed the software.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 01:39 AM   #8
War Child
 
misfit toys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 913
Local Time: 09:49 PM
I got a virus last week, and I had to go into Add/Remove programs in the Control Panel and actually uninstall a couple of things. This was after running Spybot, Adaware and a virus scan.
__________________
misfit toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 05:18 AM   #9
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 06:49 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Liesje
omg, System Restore is the greatest thing ever! It restores the system back to a previous state, of your choosing. I think most computers automatically add a restore point before every Windows update, which are many. It will not touch files like documents, pictures, music, etc. I used it just the other day b/c I installed some trial software that effed up my computer. I just restored it back to the way it was the day before I installed the software.
hmmm ok I'll have to try this tomorrow. I'm still scared though.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 10:00 AM   #10
Blue Crack Distributor
 
LarryMullen's POPAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'll be up with the sun, I'm not coming down...
Posts: 53,698
Local Time: 09:49 PM
Yikes, sis. Hope it gets fixed.

I run a scan every week and this morning it told me it had quarrantined two threats. I don't have to do anything, right?

I haven't had anything happen to any comp of mine, virus wise, in years. Stupid question, but are laptops more vulnerable?
__________________
LarryMullen's POPAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 11:31 AM   #11
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:49 PM
You can undo any System Restore if it doesn't work.

April, if it quarantined them, you should be fine. If it said "access denied" or something like that, then you want to re-run the scan in Safe Mode. The AV cannot quarantine or delete a virus file while it is running, and viruses are usually detected because they are running. Most AVs now scan for spyware, adware, and malware as well, so the threats could have been one of those and not a virus.

I don't think laptops are more vulnerable. Maybe because they are mobile, they are more likely to be connected to the Internet, especially "open" connections that have no protection of their own, but the computer itself is not any more or less vulnerable. I've been primarily using a laptop for 3 years now, always connected to the Internet, and have never had my AV detect a threat.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 04:27 PM   #12
Blue Crack Distributor
 
LarryMullen's POPAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'll be up with the sun, I'm not coming down...
Posts: 53,698
Local Time: 09:49 PM
Whew. Ok, thanks Lies!
__________________
LarryMullen's POPAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 11:53 PM   #13
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 06:49 PM
It seems the pop ups have stopped today. I have no idea if it was from anything I did (I did not do the system restore) so I'm just going to be knocking on wood here. Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com