New Modem - Wireless Impact? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2010, 12:48 PM   #1
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,700
Local Time: 07:40 AM
New Modem - Wireless Impact?

So Comcast is upgrading/replacing the modem I've been leasing from them.

Will I need to do anything with my wireless? My guess is that as long as I'm not doing anything with the router, there would be no change.

Just configure the new modem with the computer, and then plug it into the router, and bing! Same old, same old ... yes?

I really hope that's right, because it was such a gigantic pain in the ass getting my wireless set up last fall when I first got it.
__________________

__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 01:19 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
deep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: A far distance down.
Posts: 28,501
Local Time: 07:40 AM
If you can't get it to work
move to a new place, Comcast will set it up for free.
__________________

__________________
deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 01:19 PM   #3
Blue Meth Addict
 
u2popmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 36,960
Local Time: 09:40 AM
Since it sounds like your router is already set up, a new modem shouldn't affect it. Will Comcast be coming to install the modem themselves? If so, you won't have to do anything at all. If not, they're usually pretty good about including relatively simple setup instructions with their hardware.

Hopefully Comcast here will be doing the same upgrade, as I know they have a higher quality modem related to faster internet service available.
__________________
u2popmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 01:41 PM   #4
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,700
Local Time: 07:40 AM
Sweet, thanks. Yeah, they're coming on Saturday to do their thing, upgrading both my modem and DVR.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 02:18 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
deep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: A far distance down.
Posts: 28,501
Local Time: 07:40 AM
I had Comcast, then Time Warner bought them out.

There was a modem fee, I had the option of buying one at Best Buy. They gave me two different models that would work. I did buy one. I think the monthly fees I saved paid the cost off in less than a year. I've had it for 5-6 years now, works ok. 2 or 3 times a month it goes offline. I just unplug it for 10 seconds to reboot it. Then I do the same for the wireless modem. It boots right back up too.

I really enjoy my dvr, I can record one program and watch another at the same time, or even record two at once.
__________________
deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 02:23 PM   #6
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,700
Local Time: 07:40 AM
Yeah, I don't have any problems with my current modem. If I've been downloading torrents, I usually have to reboot my modem to get the connection running okay again, I usually just unplug it for 20-30 minutes and it's fine.

But this new one is apparently going to be faster, so yay.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 02:34 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
deep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: A far distance down.
Posts: 28,501
Local Time: 07:40 AM
you should do a few speed tests, before and after


to see how much speed you actually gain
__________________
deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 02:36 PM   #8
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 10:40 AM
The router and capabilities of the network card will also effect speed.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com