My laptop won't play CDs anymore... - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2009, 06:48 AM   #1
45:33
 
cobl04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: East Point to Shaolin
Posts: 55,041
Local Time: 03:33 AM
My laptop won't play CDs anymore...

Used to play them fine, and it still plays DVDs perfectly, just whenever I put a CD, blank, retail or otherwise it doesn't even recognise it, won't even come up. Yet when I go into Device Manager, it says it's working perfectly.

Tried looking for some help online... but couldn't understand the technical terms. Any solutions other than uninstalling/reinstalling the driver?
__________________

__________________
cobl04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 06:58 AM   #2
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 05:33 PM
I had that problem too. Sadly enough I don't know the solution since we had a repairman fix it. So perhaps that would be an idea, or a friend who's very tech savvy or so?
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:08 AM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 11:33 AM
Remove the drive from device manager (right click on it > Uninstall). Either restart the computer or go to Action > Scan for hardware changes. This will reinstall it.

Also check the IDE channel. If you have a "Primary" and a "Secondary", right click on the Secondary and open the Properties. Go to Advanced Settings, the transfer mode should be DMA. If you only have a Primary IDE then check the settings for that. (whether or not it's primary or secondary depends on whether your hard drive is SATA or ATA/IDE)

Optical drives don't really use a driver, but they do have firmware. You can check to see if there's updated firmware for that model.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 01:56 AM   #4
45:33
 
cobl04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: East Point to Shaolin
Posts: 55,041
Local Time: 03:33 AM
Didn't work unfortunately Ah well, just have to copy them on other computer and transfer via usb..
__________________
cobl04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com