Laptop Adapter Issues? - Page 2 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2008, 02:28 PM   #16
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 08:16 AM
But their screens are so shiny.

I had an HP before I had the Vaio and it lasted me just about the same amount of time. A speaker blew and the screen was losing connectivity so that it flickered constantly. Not to mention that it crashed and burned on me twice, requiring a complete hard drive reformat.

This being all said and done, I want to try a different brand next time, (not Dell, the home desktop hasn't worked well since day one) possibly Toshiba.

Anyway, in case I have someone following my little story...
I found my receipt for the VAIO last night after 2 hours of searching. Turns out that I bought an extended 3 year warranty. I'm going to rough it at school for a few weeks (God help me) while everything gets fixed.
__________________

__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 07:21 PM   #17
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 07:16 AM
Run, don't walk, away from the Toshiba Satellite's. If you want something that's solid as far as hardware, honestly just get a Mac. With laptops of any brand or platform, you will get what you pay for.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 10:45 AM   #18
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 08:16 AM
I thought about it. Especially since repairing a Mac would be 10 times easier in case I needed to. There's a Mac store about 15 minutes from my house and one of my friends is a Genius.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 02:14 PM   #19
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 08:16 AM
New problem! This thread should really be renamed at this point.

Okay, short story: My laptop completely died. I left it alone for the weekend and when I tried to boot it on Monday it wouldn't start so I assumed that the battery had also kicked the bucket at the same time the DC jack did.
I'm sending it in for warranty repair but I wanted to back up my hard drive just in case anything should happen. (Funnily enough, this week I read about a lawsuit against Best Buy when a woman sent her laptop in and they lost it, compromising her financial information.)
All I want is to copy the photos/videos I have saved up. Everything else I can pretty much do without in case of an emergency, and I have my music stored on my iPod itself anyway.

I got the necessary cord from a friend and hooked up the old hard drive to my mom's computer. Through a bunch of clicking and a lot of help from my friend/random websites, I was finally able to open up the Desktop file on my laptop. Unfortunately, this is as far as I can get. I can't open anything on the desktop without getting a weird message like, "Doesn't recognize file type." I also can't open my pictures folder. I've tried to click the Security tab and allow access to the administrator to move and edit files, but it gives me an error message when I click on Apply. I can't copy anything from my desktop at all, either. BUT, in an odd twist of fate, I can delete anything I want without any problems.

Gah, I'm so close I can almost taste it.

P.S. - Because this has been an issue before, the OS I'm working on in my mom's computer is XP Professional and not XP Home.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 02:40 PM   #20
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 07:16 AM
It sounds like a permissions thing. I have this problem a lot when trying to backup files from student's computers. I can't remember exactly what I do, but I have to give permission to myself and then go in a few levels deeper and apply those permissions to everything beyond that. Then it takes forever, you can see the computer changing the permissions on every single file.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 08:35 PM   #21
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 08:16 AM
This saga just gets longer and weirder.

I couldn't figure it out so I went to my friend's house and plugged into her Mac, bypassing all the permissions. Her burner wasn't working so I just left my files there.
I came back home and reinstalled the hard drive. Just fooling around, I pushed the power button and my laptop turned on again!

I'm still sending it in because it's having the same issues with Word and Firefox, but at least I've been able to save everything I wanted to my iPod by using it as an external.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 11:31 PM   #22
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 08:16 AM


So, it's been in for repair for about a week now. I called today because they gave me a notice on the geeksquad.com site about "approving something" and apparently my laptop was unsalvageable. They've agreed to give me one of "equal technology."

I googled "best buy warranty equal technology" and basically got the worst responses ever. It seems like everyone has been dissatisfied with this policy. I'm going in with my dad tomorrow, just to make sure that they don't screw me over.
Any recommendations if they give me some options?
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:21 AM   #23
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 07:16 AM
They should just give you the same model or a one-up if it's no longer manufactured.

I have to send my laptop in as well. Many dead/stuck pixels. Except my warranty is through CompUSA and they no longer exist. This should be fun....
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 09:43 AM   #24
Blue Crack Addict
 
anitram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 16,271
Local Time: 07:16 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Liesje
They should just give you the same model or a one-up if it's no longer manufactured.

I have to send my laptop in as well. Many dead/stuck pixels. Except my warranty is through CompUSA and they no longer exist. This should be fun....
Half the people here who have HP laptops have had awful issues with their pixels.

Oddly enough I don't know anyone with another brand who has (they've had different problems, but nothing with respect to pixels).
__________________
anitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 11:50 AM   #25
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 07:16 AM
Yeah I don't know what happened. We got new cleaning supplies so I cleaned my laptop really well and noticed 2. Then the next day I noticed more like 12. I don't think they all died that fast, I just wasn't looking for them. They are SO tiny, some of them I was already mistaking for a fiber on the screen. I may just wait until the end of the warranty to fix it. I can easily see them on a solid white or light background, but when I'm doing my web stuff and post processing photos there's enough color and texture going on that I don't notice it.

I wish CompUSA had hired the manufacturers to honor the rest of the warranty. I already had HP replace some RAM for me and I've always had good experiences with them. However my one year manufacturer warranty just expired.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 08:50 AM   #26
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 08:16 AM
Okay, everything has been totally resolved for the best. They managed to give me an $850 credit for a brand new laptop so I picked out a Dell Inspiron 1420 in Jet Black. It was the last one in the store, too.
My other choices were an ugly red Gateway and a Toshiba Satellite.
The 250 GB Hard Drive is great

__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 06:09 PM   #27
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 07:16 AM
That model is probably the only Dell Inspiron form factor I could live with
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com