iTunes Tips - Page 3 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2009, 01:24 PM   #31
New Yorker
 
theFly51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Harlingen, Texas
Posts: 2,824
Local Time: 01:41 PM
The biggest fear that i have with my 80gb ipod is that something bad happens to it and I lose everything thats on it because stupid me I dont back up anything! I've got music from like 10 different computers and they're like in different cities. Is there a way I would be able to take all my current music that I have right now on the Ipod and copy it to the Itunes library?
__________________

__________________
theFly51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 02:07 AM   #32
Blue Crack Addict
 
redkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: racing to the waterside
Posts: 19,620
Local Time: 12:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by theFly51 View Post
The biggest fear that i have with my 80gb ipod is that something bad happens to it and I lose everything thats on it because stupid me I dont back up anything! I've got music from like 10 different computers and they're like in different cities. Is there a way I would be able to take all my current music that I have right now on the Ipod and copy it to the Itunes library?
I've used idump a few times. It was easy to use and comes in handy every now and then. You still might want to back it up after it's on your computer. iDump - Free software downloads and reviews - CNET Download.com
__________________

__________________
redkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 05:04 PM   #33
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 11:41 AM
So what's the easiest way to transfer your iTunes from an old computer to new one? I dont have a huge amount of songs but they are all synched up with my iphone so would I just be able to sync my iphone with the new iTunes on the new comp and it will copy them into the library, or do I manually have to copy the iTunes folder on the hard drive from my old computer to the new one? Then sync? And what else would need to be done? I googled it but I'm getting some conflicting information.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:09 PM   #34
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,600
Local Time: 01:41 PM
you'd have to move all the music files over to the other computer. if you synced it with an empty itunes library, it'd wipe everything on the ipod.
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:07 AM   #35
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 11:41 AM
I got that part down, it was easy to just move the whole folder to the new computer. All the files show up in iTunes, however, it is telling me that I cant sync my phone because iTunes did not install properly and that I need to install the iTunes 64-bit version. I specifically searched 'iTunes 64-bit version' and installed it. I dont understand.

*edit.. I think I figured it out.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 12:24 AM   #36
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,712
Local Time: 11:41 AM
I had that same problem when I loaded iTunes onto my laptop. I had all sorts of problems with it at first. Now it seems to be fine.
__________________
corianderstem is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:03 AM   #37
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 11:41 AM
Blarg its not working. I installed the iTunes on the new comp then moved out the iTunes folder and replaced it with my old iTunes folder via instructions on the web, and now when I try to open iTunes it says

The file 'iTunes Library.itl' cannot be read because it was created by a newer version of iTunes.

Anyone know? Cori how did you get it to finally work?
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:41 AM   #38
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 11:41 AM
Well I think its working now.... I am following the instructions here

The File "iTunes Library.itl" Cannot be read because it was created by a newer version of itunes? - Yahoo! Answers

((hugs google))

Its updating an iphone software update right now. *crosses fingers*


I already have a love/hate relationship with windows 7.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 02:21 AM   #39
Blue Crack Addict
 
kafrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Upside-down
Posts: 19,644
Local Time: 12:41 PM
I lost almost 1200 songs when my desktop died They were still on my Nano, I just couldn't figure out how to transfer them onto my new laptop. I eventually figured out how to hook the iPod up to the laptop and transfer all my files to the new iTunes - sneaky, the media files are in a hidden folder in the E: drive. I assume you've already sorted your issue out, but for future reference, it's possible to do it that way, too.
__________________
kafrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:11 PM   #40
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 11:41 AM
Having an itunes / iphone problem.. I downloaded a song off amazon and it put it in my itunes, but when I synced my phone, it didnt put the song in my ipod app on the phone and I cant figure out why. It's checkmarked and everything and set to sync all checked songs etc but its not in my list on my phone. Any ideas?
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:13 PM   #41
Loungeroom Dancing Queen
 
Purplereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: where I can Breathe . . . and it's Magnificent
Posts: 24,782
Local Time: 05:41 AM
did it come up with an error message "this song can not be transferred" etc pop up notification?
__________________
'You might just as well say, that "I breathe when I sleep" is the same thing as "I sleep when I breathe"!'
Purplereign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:16 PM   #42
Loungeroom Dancing Queen
 
Purplereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: where I can Breathe . . . and it's Magnificent
Posts: 24,782
Local Time: 05:41 AM
came up with this on google????

I bought some new songs on iTunes but they won't transfer to my iPod. They appear on the purchased list b

good luck
__________________
'You might just as well say, that "I breathe when I sleep" is the same thing as "I sleep when I breathe"!'
Purplereign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:20 PM   #43
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 11:41 AM
Well its not an ipod its an iphone so I dont know if that makes a difference. It says rebuild your itunes library but it doesnt say how? I'll do some googling.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 02:26 PM   #44
Loungeroom Dancing Queen
 
Purplereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: where I can Breathe . . . and it's Magnificent
Posts: 24,782
Local Time: 05:41 AM
. . . always helps to read . . . the ipod device on the iphone operates in the same manner as the ipod though

have you tried copying the file to the default music folder on your computer (outside of your itunes library) and then copying it in to your iTunes? I had a couple of files I had to do that with and it seemed to work okay
__________________
'You might just as well say, that "I breathe when I sleep" is the same thing as "I sleep when I breathe"!'
Purplereign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 01:39 PM   #45
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 11:41 AM
So yeah I'm a dumbass. For some reason I didnt have the 'sync music' box checked.
__________________

__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
itunes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com