Internet connection problem - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2008, 01:58 PM   #1
Blue Crack Supplier
waynetravis's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 36,208
Local Time: 11:21 PM
Internet connection problem

My brother changed over his computer, and swapped his wireless connection onto his new machine.
The internet worked fine on the old, but on the new computer the adapter gets full signal strenght and connection to the router, but no websites load.

It's been bugging me all day, I have no idea what else to do.
Any suggestions?


waynetravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 03:23 PM   #2
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
Sicy's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,007
Local Time: 03:21 PM
Call the internet provider? They might have to give you some sort of special configuration numbers or Ips for the new machine.

Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 05:29 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
Liesje's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,555
Local Time: 05:21 PM
The SSID and any settings or athentication info is stored on the computer, not the card. It sounds like he just needs to actually setup his wireless configuration on the new computer.

Do other computers still connect on the network? Just because it connects to the router doesn't mean the router itself is actually getting an Internet connection. You can setup wireless networks with no Internet connection.
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 05:26 PM   #4
New Yorker
gman's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Highlands of Scotland
Posts: 2,539
Local Time: 11:21 PM
Was going suggest.....he would need to setup the router so it recognises the computer in questions unique Mac Address to allow it access to the net.
gman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 12:43 PM   #5
salvationsmile's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Local Time: 06:21 PM
What kind of router have you got? And who is your ISP?
salvationsmile is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright ©