I feel like a lame, but my sound is broken.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LikeNoOneBefore

Refugee
My sound suddenly stopped working. No, it's not muted. No, the speakers aren't unplugged. And no, the sound isn't all the way down.

Can someone get me fast tech help because my mind isn't working today? :wink: Thanks much.

I'm not a techie, but I've had this problem a couple of times with my Windows laptop. I can hear system sounds, but couldn't use my media players, and sometimes the sound effects on games have stopped as well. Doing the Windows updates seemed to fix the problem. Hope your sound is working now!

I suddenly had that a while back too, what driver do you have for your sound? Turns out mine was completely gone suddenly, so I downloaded the driver again and now it's functioning again..

Go to the manufacturer's website, look for a link like Support > Drivers & Downloads. There should be a field where you can select your model or enter a serial number or service tag number. Then it should load a page with drivers you can download. Or, many computers come with a disc with the drivers.

If it's a Dell, you go to support.dell.com and type in your service tag number, click Downloads. The service tag is on a white sticker.

If you don't know what driver you have:
first check your pc configuration, I've not a clue what the english names for it are, but at the start button there's an option for configuration..
should have something with audio/speech appliances
choose sound and audio appliances, or something alike it

it should give you a screen with properties, and there it says what driver you have, in my case Realtek AC97...

then as Lies said, go to the driver website, or if you don't know it google it to get a downloadable file :)

download and install the driver, and your sound should work again