How doi password encode my wireless router? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2008, 02:22 AM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
BrownEyedBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Posts: 3,510
Local Time: 10:32 PM
How doi password encode my wireless router?

I have a linksys router for my laptop and lately I've been noticing some strange iTunes library being shared on my iTunes.

Does anyone know how to password protect it? I've fiddled around with the settings for a while but it never works out right.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
BrownEyedBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 10:02 AM   #2
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 05:32 AM
go to the setup page of your router... for me it's an ip adress, it should be in the manual...
you can find the settings there, and also security settings
there you can choose wether you want a WPA or a WEP key, and set a password with them... anyone wanting to go online with your router has to put the WPA or WEP key you have and the password, otherwise no connection
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 12:00 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 11:32 PM
You can also stop broadcasting your SSID so anyone who wants to use your network has to know the name of it.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 02:22 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
BrownEyedBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Posts: 3,510
Local Time: 10:32 PM
I'm completely lost with the directions but thanks anyway. How do I stop broadcasting my ssid?

I'm on Windows Vista, though.
__________________
BrownEyedBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 03:21 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 11:32 PM
You have to make these changes on the router itself so it won't matter what computer you use as long as you're connected to the router and have an internet browser where you can enter the router's IP address. I think the Linksys default IP is usually http://192.168.1.1/
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 03:36 PM   #6
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
BrownEyedBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Posts: 3,510
Local Time: 10:32 PM
It asks for a username and password. I'm not sure where I'm suppossed to get THAT password.
__________________
BrownEyedBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 03:38 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 11:32 PM
It should be in the router's manual. For example, some router's are "admin" and no password or "comcast" "1234". If you Google the router model number you can probably find it online.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 04:09 PM   #8
Acrobat
 
Dusty Bottoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: On the veranda
Posts: 443
Local Time: 11:32 PM
linksys' default password is usually admin

so try putting in admin for both the username and password
__________________
Dusty Bottoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 04:27 PM   #9
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
BrownEyedBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Posts: 3,510
Local Time: 10:32 PM
Sweet.

Actually, the username slot had to be left in blanck.

Thanks to everyone.
__________________

__________________
BrownEyedBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com