Help! My Comps Broken ! - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 05:03 PM   #1
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 04:22 AM
Normal Help! My Comps Broken !

ok, i was on my pc, minding my own business,when the entire thing crashed, so ofcourse i restart my pc, however,...

first screen-Fujistsu siemans start up screen
screen 2-"the following file is missing or corrup:- C:/Windows/SYSTEM32"!!!

i tried fixing it with the restore CD, doing everything iwas told to by Fujitsu, until the helpline shut. not fixed it tho, so can anyone PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE help me here?

p.s. im on my brothers computer begging for help!
__________________

__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 06:04 PM   #2
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
Vincent Vega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 6,615
Local Time: 05:22 AM
Reinstall Windows, then save every important file on your computer, format you hard drive and reinstall Windows again.
__________________

__________________
Vincent Vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 06:09 PM   #3
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 08:22 PM
I think you're screwed. You might have to re-install the OS.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 06:24 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
Vincent Vega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 6,615
Local Time: 05:22 AM
Yeah, System32 is more or less the most important thing, so any problem here can only be solved in hours of work with a Windows genius, or by reinstalling.

Normal installing would help to safe your data since it isn't destroying or deleting those.
But Windows works better if you fromat your hard drive and install Windows again, so the other install is only temporary.

Another way to secure Data would need some knowloedge of the good ol' Dos.
__________________
Vincent Vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 04:58 AM   #5
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 04:22 AM
ok,
problem 1-i dont have a windows install disc
2-iv got sooo much stuff on my comp it would need around 500+CD's to save them, unless you know another way pf saving them.
__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 09:06 AM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 11:22 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by prideofzootv
ok,
problem 1-i dont have a windows install disc
2-iv got sooo much stuff on my comp it would need around 500+CD's to save them, unless you know another way pf saving them.
heh....you're SOL. The system32 directory is pretty much all the important stuff that makes the computer work.

Why don't you have the install discs?

You can try getting your stuff off by connecting your hard drive as a secondary hard drive in another computer. Often you can still access things as long as the hard drive doesn't have to boot or run the drivers. My laptop died and I was able to easily access my files by connecting my hard drive to my work computer with a SATA to USB adapter.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 09:47 AM   #7
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 04:22 AM
i dont have the install discs cos mine didnt come with any, just a product recovery disc i think
__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 09:52 AM   #8
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 11:22 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by prideofzootv
i dont have the install discs cos mine didnt come with any, just a product recovery disc i think
I would call the company then. If it's a valid computer, they should provide a recovery disc that includes the operating system.

I may even be on the hard drive already. My old HP computer had a recovery partition on the desktop that you could boot from and reinstall Windows.

Check the product manuals.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 10:47 AM   #9
Halloweenhead
Forum Moderator
 
Bonochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cherry Lane
Posts: 40,816
Local Time: 12:22 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by LivLuvAndBootlegMusic


I would call the company then. If it's a valid computer, they should provide a recovery disc that includes the operating system.


My mom was giving her computer to my sister, but it was kind of screwed up, and Mom didn't want any of the data on it anyway, so we just decided to do a reinstall and start from scratch...but Mom couldn't find her discs. I was able to order some through the company's web site for a small price. Of course, Mom found her discs soon after.
__________________
"Knight in shining Zubaz."

Bonochick [at] interference.com
Bonochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 12:30 PM   #10
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 08:22 PM
Is there an easy way to backup all your 'important files' other than burning them all to data cd disks?

I usually end up with like 10 disks after doing a back up

Damn mp3 files
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 01:15 PM   #11
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 11:22 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
Is there an easy way to backup all your 'important files' other than burning them all to data cd disks?

I usually end up with like 10 disks after doing a back up

Damn mp3 files
For people with this much data (myself included), using discs is pretty futile. I highly recommend an external hard drive or some USB device that can easily hold ALL backed up data and work universally on any computer. Discs take forever, the hold next to nothing (some of my videos are bigger than one data disc), and once they're burned, you can't make any changes.

When my comp. crashed, I connected the bad drive and my external USB drive to a different computer and copied the data from the bad drive to the external drive. Luckily, there were only two Word files that I needed, because I try to make a habit of doing regular backups and I was typing those documents the moment the hard drive died. However, it would not have taken much time to copy all of my data, especially if the middle computer has USB 2.0.

At this point, reinstalling Windows is going to erase all that data anyway....
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 05:08 PM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 08:22 PM
Sometime you can avoid a reinstall of Windows by using the Windows repair function.

Of couse, you will need the OS disk to complete this task.

Livluv had an excellent idea regarding the hard drive. Using it as a secondary on another computer (or installing a new hard drive as a new primary on your computer - and installing the OS on the new drive). This way you recover the data (I've got about 200 GB of data on a secondary drive).
__________________
nbcrusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 12:39 PM   #13
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 04:22 AM
so if i got a new hard drive, installed that as the primary HD, i can recover everything?
__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 01:24 PM   #14
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 11:22 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by prideofzootv
so if i got a new hard drive, installed that as the primary HD, i can recover everything?
Try making it a secondary drive on an existing PC first, as LivLuv said above. I personally wouldn't buy another drive yet if I had another PC accessible to me.
__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 01:26 PM   #15
War Child
 
prideofzootv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 864
Local Time: 04:22 AM
yeh only problem is i dont have the correct lead to connect the PC's and the comp i can transfer over to has a hardrive the size of a pea! its tiny, no way could it take everything on my PC
__________________

__________________
prideofzootv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com