Help me plan a stereo system - Page 5 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2007, 06:53 PM   #61
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,730
Local Time: 12:16 PM
: head explodes :
__________________

__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 06:58 PM   #62
ONE
love, blood, life
 
U2Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: at pavel's
Posts: 11,603
Local Time: 09:16 PM
just use the standard cable that probably comes along with the cd player. you can always buy an optical cable later on if you need it.
__________________

__________________
U2Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 07:05 PM   #63
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,730
Local Time: 12:16 PM
that's my plan for now, I think. As for the speaker cable, I might just have to wait until the speakers get here, look at the place where the speaker wire plugs in, and then take it from there.

A big thank you to everyone in here who's been helping me out.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 07:06 PM   #64
Resident Photo Buff
Forum Moderator
 
Diemen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Somewhere in middle America
Posts: 13,238
Local Time: 02:16 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by U2Man
if you want to listen to dts or dolby digital, you do need an optic cable, though.
That's for a dvd player though. For a cd player, it's not necessary.

Simplify!
__________________
Diemen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 07:16 PM   #65
ONE
love, blood, life
 
U2Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: at pavel's
Posts: 11,603
Local Time: 09:16 PM
thats true.
__________________
U2Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 08:31 PM   #66
ONE
love, blood, life
 
U2Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: at pavel's
Posts: 11,603
Local Time: 09:16 PM
here's my receiver, btw.: http://www.denon.co.uk/site/frames_m...detail&Pid=234
__________________
U2Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 08:47 PM   #67
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 03:16 PM
^Nice box U2Man.

I have this:


I'm a big digital cable believer I guess.
I want the cleanest path possible. For audio I use firewire out from the CD player, coax out from the DVD player, and optical out from the cable box.
__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 11:35 PM   #68
Resident Photo Buff
Forum Moderator
 
Diemen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Somewhere in middle America
Posts: 13,238
Local Time: 02:16 PM
I try to use digital when possible too, but more because I've got a receiver with way too many inputs/outputs and I want to minimize the amount of cables coming out of it.

I've got this one:

Onkyo TX-SR702
__________________
Diemen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 11:11 AM   #69
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 03:16 PM
RCA's not bad, but I don't like those cheap cables they throw in the box. They are the weakest link in the signal path on a good system. They degrade the overall system's performance and kind of defeat the purpose of spending all that money on components and speakers with superior internal wiring. The sound(or video) is only as good as the weakest link in the chain.
__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 11:26 AM   #70
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,730
Local Time: 12:16 PM
Are there better quality RCA cables I can buy to replace the ones that come with it? Maybe I'll just do that.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 11:45 AM   #71
Blue Crack Supplier
 
elevated_u2_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: I'm here 'cus I don't want to go home
Posts: 31,694
Local Time: 03:16 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Diemen
I try to use digital when possible too, but more because I've got a receiver with way too many inputs/outputs and I want to minimize the amount of cables coming out of it.

I've got this one:

Onkyo TX-SR702

ooohhh, are we looking at audio nerd-porn??? Here's my baby:



http://www.harmankardon.com/product_...%20245&sType=C



One of these days, I will buy one of these:



__________________
elevated_u2_fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 11:53 AM   #72
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 03:16 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by corianderstem
Are there better quality RCA cables I can buy to replace the ones that come with it? Maybe I'll just do that.
Yes - see radioshack.com for examples. Under $20 there will get you RCA(gold-plated), Optical, or Digital Coax (e.g. 6 feet). And under $10 with shipping on ebay will get you any of those. Given that they are all around the same price, the optical or coax is preferred and is actually the simplest to connect (one plug per end instead of two).
__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:26 PM   #73
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,730
Local Time: 12:16 PM
Thanks, ntalwar - you've been very helpful!

There's a Radio Shack in my neighborhood, so I'll likely pop down there for my cable needs.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 06:41 PM   #74
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,730
Local Time: 12:16 PM
Okay ... I fear I have become a cautionary tale.

My speakers won't be here until Monday, but I wanted to have everything ready. I have my receiver and CD player (yay!) and got some stereo wire terminated for me based on what I thought I needed. I even had someone this morning tell me that banana plugs should be fine with an Onkyo receiver.

So what's on the back of my receiver when I unpack it? Those little push-connectors, where you push the lever and shove the wires in.

I'm hoping when I have the speakers in hand that it will be obvious that a banana plug will pop right into the connection there. Diemen has the same speakers and told me he has banana plugs on his wires, so I'm guessing I'm okay there.

But for the receiver end, can I just take the wire I had done for me and cut a little off it, thus severing the banana plug connector and then strip the wires and insert as needed?

Or am I screwed, with way too much money spent to have the cables terminated?

Also, the instructions tell me to make sure I connect positive to positive and negative to negative ... if I'm just twisting bare wires together and shoving them into the push-slot, how do I know what's negative and positive?

I had no idea this shit would cause me so much stress. Then again, I might just be high-strung.
__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 07:23 PM   #75
Blue Crack Distributor
 
corianderstem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 63,730
Local Time: 12:16 PM
Okay. After much fretting, I went to Radio Shack and a rather humorless but very patient man helped me figure out what I need.

Valuable lesson learned: being proactive and wanting to be prepared is good, but next time I know to at least see the equipment in person before assuming I know what I'll need.

The good news is that the $$ spent on the cable is not lost. I just need to ditch one end with the banana plugs and start from scratch there.

Of course, I'll have to strip the wire and bought a wire stripper thingy ... which I would have needed if I'd decided to do it myself anyway.

But hey - chances are I would have gotten stuck trying to put the banana plugs on, so maybe it's all okay.

Fretting and freaking is over (knock on wood). I now return you to your regularly scheduled Blue Crack browsing.
__________________

__________________
corianderstem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com