Hardware Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liesje

Blue Crack Addict
Yes, I know I'm a computer technician, but I do campus standard software, not hardware so I've got a question: I have a 4+ year old HP Pavilion laptop that I bought two years ago, used, for $200. At the time it was incapacitated by viruses, but since I get Microsoft products free through MSDN, I simply installed Windows XP Pro SP2 and all was well.

Now, I think my hard drive is on it's way out, but I want to verify it is in fact the hard drive. My computer has slowed WAY down in the past few months, but what's really telling is that it'll often make a loud click, sometimes followed by a beep.

Two days ago I came upstairs and there was a bios-like screen that said something like "Boot From: 1) Hard drive 2) CD-ROM drive 3) Network Card 4) Other" and when I selected hard drive, it blinked and moved down to CD-ROM. I'm assuming the compy automatically installed a Windows update, which restarts the computer on it's own, and then it was unable to recognize the hard drive as the boot disk. I restarted it a few times and then it booted to Windows and has been on every since.

Another symptom is sometimes when I open my computer and it "wakes" up (I never shut it down), it gets stuck on a black screen with a blinking cursor and will take 5 minutes before loading the Windows login. I thought maybe this is because the wireless card is trying to connect (I've heard wireless can sometimes slow down boot), but I don't know.

Hard drive - yes? no? It is worth it to reinstall the OS or should I let it run it's course (ie, die)?

I would say for sure that its the hard drive there are many different diagnostic tools that you can run to test the hard drive itself.