Gamers? Video Card Question! - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2007, 05:59 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Got Philk?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona, Tacoma, Philadelphia ,Atlanta, LA...
Posts: 6,875
Local Time: 10:07 PM
Gamers? Video Card Question!

Hi,
For those of you who play the computer games, I am wondering if you could answer a question.

If you could get any video card. ANY! No worries about cost or anything. What card would you get?

I'm thinking about getting a new one and really don't know. I mean, I'll do research and all, but if you play the newer games that require top notch video hardware, could you help me out?

Thanks,
Philk
__________________

__________________
Got Philk? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:05 PM   #2
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
xaviMF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In haunted attics
Posts: 7,091
Local Time: 10:07 PM
ATI's RadeonĀ® X1950 Pro
__________________

__________________
xaviMF22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:17 PM   #3
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Got Philk?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona, Tacoma, Philadelphia ,Atlanta, LA...
Posts: 6,875
Local Time: 10:07 PM
I forgot to mention I have the radeon 3550 right now. It works great for the sport games, but when it comes to Medal of Honor...or any other graphics based games...not so much.

"looks up radeon X1950 Pro:
__________________
Got Philk? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:30 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
xaviMF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In haunted attics
Posts: 7,091
Local Time: 10:07 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Got Philk?
I forgot to mention I have the radeon 3550 right now. It works great for the sport games, but when it comes to Medal of Honor...or any other graphics based games...not so much.

"looks up radeon X1950 Pro:
well the Radeon x1950 Pro will have you set for this life and the one after....
__________________
xaviMF22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:34 PM   #5
ONE
love, blood, life
 
Canadiens1131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,363
Local Time: 10:07 PM
Do you have an AGP or a PCI-e graphics card slot? How old's your computer?

Although price may not be an object, it'd be good to know what kind of system you have so I can recommend something that won't melt your power supply.
__________________
Canadiens1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:34 PM   #6
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Got Philk?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona, Tacoma, Philadelphia ,Atlanta, LA...
Posts: 6,875
Local Time: 10:07 PM
__________________
Got Philk? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 09:39 PM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Got Philk?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona, Tacoma, Philadelphia ,Atlanta, LA...
Posts: 6,875
Local Time: 10:07 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Canadiens1160
Do you have an AGP or a PCI-e graphics card slot? How old's your computer?

Although price may not be an object, it'd be good to know what kind of system you have so I can recommend something that won't melt your power supply.
Ok, a friend built this for me, so it's not like a dell or HP. It is a PCI-express slot. The computer is a little over 1 year old. And the power supply I have to ask about. But it should be pretty close to top notch. What would u need to know about the power supply? So I can ask better questions?
__________________
Got Philk? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 10:12 PM   #8
ONE
love, blood, life
 
Canadiens1131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,363
Local Time: 10:07 PM
How many watts is the power supply. Some of the top end Geforce cards tend to suck power like a mofo and require something upwards of 500 watts. If someone custom built it for you and threw in a PCI-e slot, you should be good to go honestly cause they know what they're doing.
__________________
Canadiens1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 10:57 PM   #9
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Got Philk?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona, Tacoma, Philadelphia ,Atlanta, LA...
Posts: 6,875
Local Time: 10:07 PM
So i'm gonna guess that the x1950 is better than the x 1350 right? CompUSA has no X1950, but they had the X1350. Not that I would need to go to CompUSA by any means.

I'm going to ask my friend some questions before buying, but I guess that would be a good question. Where would you recommend purchasing this lovely device?
__________________
Got Philk? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 11:08 AM   #10
Halloweenhead
Forum Moderator
 
Bonochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cherry Lane
Posts: 40,816
Local Time: 10:07 PM

I've been wanting to upgrade my video card, but I really shouldn't spend the money, and my power supply is only 200 watts, so I'd have to upgrade that too. Even cards I've seen that aren't all insanely spectacular (but would be a great improvement for me) call for a minimum of 250 watts. I've kind of gotten away from PC gaming anyway...but part of me thinks that's just because I got tired of the computer lagging. If I had a good system for it, I'd probably get the interest back. I also figure that my computer is 3 and a half years old, so...do I wanna sink in money for upgrades or just wait until I eventually get a new computer? Which will probably be for awhile, unless it just dies unexpectedly or something.
__________________
"Knight in shining Zubaz."

Bonochick [at] interference.com
Bonochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 01:33 PM   #11
Refugee
 
daafish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,176
Local Time: 07:07 PM
When I was strolling through Fry's about a month ago they had the Geforce 8800 on display. This guys is a monster! 768MB card! Went for about $600!

Anyway, once you narrow down your choices check the various online stores...you can actually get some good deals versus the stores.

I personally run a Geforce 6800GT and it has served it's purpose quite well Until I come across a game that doesn't consistantly run at 30 frames/sec min. while details are set to high, I'll stick with what I have.
__________________
daafish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 04:07 PM   #12
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Got Philk?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona, Tacoma, Philadelphia ,Atlanta, LA...
Posts: 6,875
Local Time: 10:07 PM
I have heard that Geforce is the way I should go by a couple different people. Any thoughts on this?

And I did say money wasn't an issue, but I have looked up the GeForce 8800's. I might pay half of that.
__________________
Got Philk? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 04:24 PM   #13
Refugee
 
daafish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,176
Local Time: 07:07 PM
I've heard a few praises for the Geforce 9600s. As for the 8800, it would be nice but it is definately overkill even for todays games.
__________________
daafish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 05:02 PM   #14
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
xaviMF22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In haunted attics
Posts: 7,091
Local Time: 10:07 PM
ATI > Nvidia

believe it...ATI's cards are way better
__________________
xaviMF22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 06:28 PM   #15
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
sue4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: hatching some plot, scheming some scheme
Posts: 6,628
Local Time: 09:07 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by xaviMF22
ATI > Nvidia

believe it...ATI's cards are way better
I've been on the internet for about 3 hours and I am throughly confused. I am seeing alot of ATI Nvidia cards mentioned.

Never been into gaming much but probably would if I had a system to support it. In any case I'm just not sure which cards I should be keeping an eye out for even with just dvd/cdr burners etc. I don't need a package. I have monitor mouse keyboard etc.

Looking in the range of $500 to $800.00 I really have no idea what I want/what I need for just the music and videos.

So is ATI what I'm looking for?
__________________

__________________
sue4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright Ā© Interference.com