Frustrating Problem - Can't Open Internet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

phillyfan26

Blue Crack Supplier
My connections are working. I can get on any program (i.e.: AIM) that uses the Internet. Except for Internet Explorer itself. I double click on it, and nothing happens. I could wait an hour, it just doesn't respond. I try it in the Start Menu. Nothing. On the bottom bar. Nothing. What the hell is happening?

Do a ctrl+alt+delete go to processess and see if iexplore is running. If so, click it and then click "End Process". If that doesn't work, try to go to C-program files and fine the IE folder. Click it from in there. If that doesn't work, I got nothing, buddy. Sorry.

Do you have Vista? I ask b/c I am a laptop technician for a college and lately we've seen several Vista computers that for whatever reason no longer access the Internet on ANY network. They all get on AIM, iTunes store, MSN, their antivirus updates, Windows Updates run, etc, but you cannot browse in IE or FireFox.

The first thing I try is a System Restore back to when they can confirm they were online. This has not worked more than it has, but it's something to try. If it doesn't work, then I delete the network adapters in the Device Manager. If you have Vista, they will instantly reinstall themselves. Then I open a command prompt and do an ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew. What we are seeing is that the computers will release and renew the correct IP addresses and we can see these computers on our network, but there's something wrong with the TCP/IP that's simply not allowing them to browse. All of my "guinea pig" computers were sent home and even after the networking guys did hours of research, they said to reinstall Vista.

Now, I'm supposed to find a new guinea pig computer and run this in a command line and see what happens:

netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled