Free Internet Security or Virus removal programs - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2007, 11:23 AM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Justin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 6,716
Local Time: 06:42 PM
Free Internet Security or Virus removal programs

I have a friend in Guatemala who has a virus on her computer and I want to find her a free internet security or virus removal program.
__________________

__________________
Justin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 11:32 AM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:42 PM
For free programs I'd use AVG. Install it, then reboot the computer in Safe Mode and run the scan.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 12:23 PM   #3
Ghost of Love
 
gvox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In The Ballroom of The Crystal Lights
Posts: 19,835
Local Time: 08:42 PM
Cool tip Lies. Many people don't know why you need to be in safe mode to do that scan to its fullest capability.

Justin she should also run HijackThis and check out the entries with someone who can decipher them for her. Kapersky is good too.
__________________
ACROBAT - U2 Tribute on Facebook


http://home.cogeco.ca/~october/images/sheeep.jpg

Don't push this button:
 
I'm serious, don't!

 


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyagu_Anaykus View Post
Interference is my Earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gvox View Post
Consequently, Earth is an experimental disaster.
 

If you keep going, you have only your self to blame

 


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Best Interferencer On The Damn Planet View Post
Edge:
too sexy for his amp
too sexy for his cap
too sexy for that god-damned headset
I told you








gvox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 12:35 PM   #4
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 02:42 AM
Spybot- Search and Destroy is great for getting rid of tracking cookies, which are often the cause of virus infection.
__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 12:40 PM   #5
ONE
love, blood, life
 
Canadiens1131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,363
Local Time: 09:42 PM
AVG or Spybot. Can't recommend anything better.
__________________
Canadiens1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 12:43 PM   #6
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 02:42 AM
TBH, I have AVG, and It never finds anything. I dont know if thats just because my laptop has no viruses, or it removes them on contact.

although having said that I dont scan in safe mode.
__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 05:34 PM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Justin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 6,716
Local Time: 06:42 PM
Thank You I will give her the information you have all provided.
__________________
Justin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 05:58 PM   #8
Blue Crack Distributor
 
tiny dancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: small town Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 87,209
Local Time: 01:42 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Canadiens1160
AVG or Spybot. Can't recommend anything better.

So do I !!!! Also use Ad-Ware. Never had any problems what so ever, since I have used all 3 for the last 2 years.
__________________
Into the heart of a child...
tiny dancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:29 PM   #9
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 05:42 PM
Question. If you already have McAfee installed, is it ok to install AVG or Avast on top of that?
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 12:08 AM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:42 PM
NO!!!! bad bad bad idea!! Remove it all. Sorry, I've just seen baaaaad stuff happen when people are trying to run more than one of those apps at once. The best thing is to use ONE antivirus program and ONE firewall (my picks would be Nod32 and just the Windows Security firewall the comp comes with).
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 01:24 AM   #11
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 05:42 PM
I havent installed them yet but my parents have mcafee installed but something weird is going on with their computer. All of a sudden after windows boots my dad says he cant type anything. Like if he goes to type an email, the letters dont come up unless he holds down the button, then like after 2 seconds the letter comes up. However, when he puts his password into windows on a reboot it types fine. So I'm thinking they have a virus or something. McAfee according to him is not showing anything (I had him do a scan). I also had him run adaware. I'm going over there tomorrow to see if there are any weird programs installed and I will uninstall them (my mom has a terrible habit of installing crap. ) Any thoughts?
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 11:37 AM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:42 PM
Is the computer really slow? Could be a virus or something stealing all the memory.

If you install a second program on top of the first, it will only make it worst. They are basically fighting for memory and if they are scanning or using the same file at the same time, it can get corrupted. In my experience, running two programs at the same time is worst than the effects of a mean virus. Most programs use a real-time scan so they are always watching the computer. You get more than one going at a time and it's like a tug of war.

Best bet is always to run one scan at a time in Safe Mode. If you roll the system back to before the problem started, look at the log and see which files were changed/removed, it might indicate if a virus or adware was messing it up.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 12:55 PM   #13
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 05:42 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Liesje
If you roll the system back to before the problem started, look at the log and see which files were changed/removed, it might indicate if a virus or adware was messing it up.
Um yeah I have no idea how to do that. I just was looking at other virus programs since he said he ran mcafee and it didnt catch anything. I will run it myself today when I go over there because my parents arent very computer savvy, maybe they missed something.

I dont think the comp is running slow, he just cant really type anything (and its not the keyboard).
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 05:40 PM   #14
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 05:42 PM
Unbelievable... gotta love my parents lack of computer knowledge.

I sat here and did virus scans, spyware scans, was going to actually try a system restore and then I noticed a weird little icon in the task bar called 'filter keys'. Opened it up and there was an option to 'filter the keys' that was checkmarked. WTF! LOL so anyway all is fixed and I still have no idea what that little program was because now I cant find it anywhere on the comp.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 05:46 PM   #15
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 02:42 AM
Usually they dont show up on the control pannel add/remove software thing. I end up just going though my hard disc looking for iffy names.
__________________

__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com