Firefox 2.0 released - Page 2 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2006, 01:32 PM   #16
Rock n' Roll Doggie
FOB
 
Utoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lovetown
Posts: 8,343
Local Time: 06:01 AM
I think I'm in love.
__________________

__________________
Utoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 03:59 PM   #17
Blue Crack Addict
 
the rockin edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: tomorrow's just an excuse away
Posts: 26,816
Local Time: 04:01 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by martha
I have a spankin' new iMac. I was thinking about downloading Firefox. But I'm old and scared.
i have a mac and i use Firefox...


Firefox > Safari >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> IE.

__________________

__________________
the rockin edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 04:01 PM   #18
ONE
love, blood, life
 
U2Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: at pavel's
Posts: 11,603
Local Time: 11:01 AM
Haven't installed it yet. Has Mozilla fixed that stupid memory issue that Firefox has always had? It never seemed to free any of the memory it allocated. It was a pain in the butt if you didn't have plenty of memory.
__________________
U2Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 10:29 PM   #19
ONE
love, blood, life
 
Canadiens1131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,363
Local Time: 06:01 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by U2Man
Haven't installed it yet. Has Mozilla fixed that stupid memory issue that Firefox has always had? It never seemed to free any of the memory it allocated. It was a pain in the butt if you didn't have plenty of memory.
Apparently that memory leak has been fixed. Firefox will still hog up to 150,000k if I check the task manager, but only if I'm using several intensive web apps (like the Yahoo mail beta) in separate tabs. For having a couple tabs open to regular websites, it uses around 78,000k and I have no evidence to say that usage increases for no reason.
__________________
Canadiens1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 01:51 PM   #20
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:01 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Canadiens1160
Apparently that memory leak has been fixed. Firefox will still hog up to 150,000k if I check the task manager, but only if I'm using several intensive web apps (like the Yahoo mail beta) in separate tabs. For having a couple tabs open to regular websites, it uses around 78,000k and I have no evidence to say that usage increases for no reason.
Thank goodness. When you have only 256 RAM and a six year old Celeron, memory is a scarce resource!
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 08:45 AM   #21
genius of compression
Forum Moderator
 
neutral's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: forty miles from atlanta, this is nowhere
Posts: 13,030
Local Time: 06:01 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by the rockin edge


i have a mac and i use Firefox...


Firefox > Safari >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> IE.


Yes. Never cared for Safari.

IE for Mac...


You should try this Martha. I just upgraded, verrrry happy.

__________________
neutral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 02:10 PM   #22
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: gone
Posts: 17,891
Local Time: 05:01 AM
great, this has completely fucked up my tabbed browsing, thanks a lot
__________________
Chizip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 02:54 PM   #23
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: gone
Posts: 17,891
Local Time: 05:01 AM
does anybody have an install file for an older version of firefox? this new version has screwed me over. i have to use IE now
__________________
Chizip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 03:08 PM   #24
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 06:01 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Chizip
does anybody have an install file for an older version of firefox? this new version has screwed me over. i have to use IE now
http://oldversion.com/program.php?n=firefox
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 03:12 PM   #25
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: gone
Posts: 17,891
Local Time: 05:01 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by PlaTheGreat


http://oldversion.com/program.php?n=firefox
__________________
Chizip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 03:16 PM   #26
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 06:01 AM
It does pay to be nerdy.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 03:27 PM   #27
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: gone
Posts: 17,891
Local Time: 05:01 AM
im so happy, lets make out

warning to others: dont download 2.0
__________________
Chizip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 03:45 PM   #28
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 06:01 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Chizip
im so happy, lets make out

warning to others: dont download 2.0


I didn't because there are usually bugs with new software releases. Plus my favorite extensions and themes don't work with 2.0.
I'll just wait a few months. That way all the nerdier nerds will add fun stuff.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 03:54 PM   #29
She's the One
 
martha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Orange County and all over the goddamn place
Posts: 42,334
Local Time: 02:01 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Chizip
warning to others: dont download 2.0


Now I'm older and scareder.
__________________
martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 01:28 AM   #30
Blue Crack Addict
 
the rockin edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: tomorrow's just an excuse away
Posts: 26,816
Local Time: 04:01 AM
i haven't had any problems with tabbed browsing on 2.0.

i want my 'bb code' extension though.
__________________

__________________
the rockin edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com