Extracting a DVD to iTunes? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2010, 06:31 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
theedgeu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Secretly listening to a U2 record that's beyond the greatness of Achtung Baby and Joshua Tree while eating brownies. In The Hive™.
Posts: 4,848
Local Time: 01:31 AM
Extracting a DVD to iTunes?

Sorry if there is a similar thread, I did a search and explored the threads.

Soooooo I was lookin to import or extract or whatever the term is for placing a DVD disc to iTunes. I was wondering if anyone knew of any free software or a way to get the DVDs to iTunes. And if it's software I HATE watermarks, so no watermarks either. Thanks in advance to the "hero" of the day(s).
__________________

theedgeu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 08:30 PM   #2
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier
 
LMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37,609
Local Time: 11:31 PM
Handbrake.fr is the best place to go.

There are settings in place for Apple TV/iTunes that are easy to use.
__________________

LMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:32 PM   #3
Blue Crack Supplier
 
martha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Orange County and all over the goddamn place
Posts: 42,553
Local Time: 10:31 PM
Good lord. I looked at handbrake.fr. It looks complicated. LMP, come over to my house and set it up for me. I'll give you 20 bucks.
martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:43 AM   #4
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier
 
LMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37,609
Local Time: 11:31 PM
Go to 'Download'
If you're on a Mac, get the 32-bit GUI; On a PC, get the XP/Vista/7 GUI

Once you've installed, put the DVD in
Click Source at the top to find your disc, allow it to scan
Once that's all set, go to one of the presets on the side (Apple TV)

Press start and you should be good. Hope that helps.
LMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 08:02 AM   #5
Blue Crack Supplier
 
martha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Orange County and all over the goddamn place
Posts: 42,553
Local Time: 10:31 PM
Thanks! I'll try that sometime this weekend. Will it work in just plain old iTunes and not Apple TV?
martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:45 AM   #6
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier
 
LMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37,609
Local Time: 11:31 PM
Yep. Any of the Quicktime/Apple TV settings go the .m4v format, which'll work in iTunes just fine.
LMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:06 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
RedRocksU2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Murrieta, CA.
Posts: 26,437
Local Time: 10:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by martha View Post
Good lord. I looked at handbrake.fr. It looks complicated. LMP, come over to my house and set it up for me. I'll give you 20 bucks.
yes, me too.
RedRocksU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 04:12 PM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
theedgeu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Secretly listening to a U2 record that's beyond the greatness of Achtung Baby and Joshua Tree while eating brownies. In The Hive™.
Posts: 4,848
Local Time: 01:31 AM
How long must we wait for this to scan!!! This is getting frustrating.
theedgeu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 09:00 PM   #9
Blue Crack Supplier
 
martha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Orange County and all over the goddamn place
Posts: 42,553
Local Time: 10:31 PM
Well, that was a bust. It seemed to download just fine, but when I went to open it, the icon appeared on the dock, then quickly disappeared. It wouldn't open. Then, I'm not sure I would have been able to do anything anyway, because the dvd player starts the second I stick the dvd in.
martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 12:32 AM   #10
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,677
Local Time: 12:31 AM
i hate the autostart feature when you pop in a dvd...when i'm trying to use handbrake. every other time i'm glad it does that.

all you need to do though is just quit the dvd player. even force quitting it is fine. i force quit a lot of programs when i get impatient.
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 10:42 AM   #11
Blue Crack Supplier
 
martha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Orange County and all over the goddamn place
Posts: 42,553
Local Time: 10:31 PM
The problem is that I couldn't get the handbrake thing to open at all.

And yeah, force quitting is cheaper than putting a bullet into the thing, which I've considered more than once.
martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 08:11 PM   #12
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,677
Local Time: 12:31 AM
yeah, i read that. that's weird, i've got no problems with handbrake on either of my computer, but i have had that problem once with something else. i forget its name, but it was some zip/rar extraction program. i hate when programs do that.

and yes!
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:44 PM   #13
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
theedgeu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Secretly listening to a U2 record that's beyond the greatness of Achtung Baby and Joshua Tree while eating brownies. In The Hive™.
Posts: 4,848
Local Time: 01:31 AM
ok so i got handbrake and clicked source and chose the dvd but it will not scan the thing! either i'm doing something wrong or handbrake is f*cked.
theedgeu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 09:30 PM   #14
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,677
Local Time: 12:31 AM
does the dvd have any sort of copyright protection on it? i've got one dvd with (i think) the fbi logo on it and it just sits there scanning forever.
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 01:12 AM   #15
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier
 
LMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37,609
Local Time: 11:31 PM
I'm sorry, I forgot that add that you also need to download VLC player to be able to scan discs:

videolan.org
LMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 02:58 PM   #16
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
theedgeu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Secretly listening to a U2 record that's beyond the greatness of Achtung Baby and Joshua Tree while eating brownies. In The Hive™.
Posts: 4,848
Local Time: 01:31 AM
Old, old thread I know but I was curios as I don't see an option in Handbrake for 'Audio'. I see the little boxes that say 'Video', 'Audio', and etc. So what I'm asking is will Handbrake extract audio only? Or does it just do video? I'm glad I can use it on a Mac now as I when I started this thread I was using a PC that wouldn't cooperate worth a crap. And as KhanadaRhodes mentioned about copyright protection, I'm trying to extract the audio from my U2: Elevation Boston DVD and I don't see any FBI logo or anything on it. There is the words "This copyright is owned by..." in a circle around the disc. I'll try and see if it works now. Handbrake kept "unexpectedly" quitting last night so I haven't been able to get a run at it. Why must I not be so good at these sort of things?
theedgeu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:00 PM   #17
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
theedgeu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Secretly listening to a U2 record that's beyond the greatness of Achtung Baby and Joshua Tree while eating brownies. In The Hive™.
Posts: 4,848
Local Time: 01:31 AM
And for a mac which VLC do I get?
theedgeu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:03 PM   #18
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,677
Local Time: 12:31 AM
i'm not sure if there's an audio option or not. personally, i rip the video then use quicktime pro to get the audio (kind of a pain but usually the stuff i want the audio of i also want the video of).
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 04:01 PM   #19
ONE
love, blood, life
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,646
Local Time: 12:31 AM
Not that it's all that relevant to the ripping issues, but if you bought the DVD, you have every right to make copies of it for yourself. It's balls that they make it so difficult
__________________

Jive Turkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rose bowl dvd.... NYRangers78 Everything You Know Is Wrong 1005 06-03-2010 12:46 PM
Splitting a dual layer dvd file VintagePunk Restart and Reboot Yourself 2 02-22-2010 12:49 AM
Free DVD Audio Extractor for Macs Justin24 Restart and Reboot Yourself 0 02-11-2010 10:44 PM
Buying music online.....iTunes? marik Restart and Reboot Yourself 5 02-01-2010 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com
×