Explorer.exe is at 100% CPU Usage - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2007, 10:59 AM   #1
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier
 
LMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37,609
Local Time: 08:56 PM
Explorer.exe is at 100% CPU Usage

I've been getting this every time I'm on my computer. Is it caused by spyware?

What's going on here and how can I fix it?
__________________

__________________
LMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 02:57 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:56 PM
My parents computer is having this issue. Windows XP Pro, SP 2. I'm not really sure what's causing it so I'll probably reinstall Windows at some point.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 07:39 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: gone
Posts: 17,891
Local Time: 09:56 PM
stop downloading porn
__________________
Chizip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 09:36 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
BonoIsMyMuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 5,241
Local Time: 09:56 PM
Have you tried downloading Firefox? IE used to be so buggy for me, but I rarely have problems with Firefox. The only time I use IE now is to download Windows updates or to watch movies online at Netflix, since their media player requires IE.
__________________
BonoIsMyMuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 11:09 PM   #5
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier
 
LMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37,609
Local Time: 08:56 PM
I use firefox already and have stopped downloading all of the porn, thanks chiz.

I have XP SP2 and I tried to re-install, but I had the same problem. Could I do a full SP2 install over my previous one without messing up my system?
__________________
LMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 03:01 AM   #6
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier
 
LMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37,609
Local Time: 08:56 PM
Re-installing SP2 did the trick, thanks Liesje.
__________________
LMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 03:13 AM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: gone
Posts: 17,891
Local Time: 09:56 PM
youre welcome
__________________
Chizip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 09:43 AM   #8
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:56 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by BonoIsMyMuse
Have you tried downloading Firefox? IE used to be so buggy for me, but I rarely have problems with Firefox. The only time I use IE now is to download Windows updates or to watch movies online at Netflix, since their media player requires IE.
'

explorer.exe is different than IE. But on this topic, I was told you can now get an emulator for FireFox, so all the shitty sites that require IE now work with FireFox, even Windows Fuckdate.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 01:13 PM   #9
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Got Philk?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona, Tacoma, Philadelphia ,Atlanta, LA...
Posts: 6,875
Local Time: 10:56 PM
Is window's fuckdate one of those sites Chizip was talking about?
__________________
Got Philk? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 07:18 PM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:56 PM
Yes, it screws you over and rapes your computer of its ability to function even though it was working just peachy keen before you went to their site.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 06:19 AM   #11
Babyface
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Local Time: 02:56 AM
On the task manager, look for svchost.exe. If that's taking up alot (like more than 30% sometimes) aswell as explorer.exe, then it's the blaster virus, and it's hard to get rid of!
__________________
smitty83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:59 AM   #12
LMP
Blue Crack Supplier
 
LMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 37,609
Local Time: 08:56 PM
it turns out it was a dormant Trojan Vundo.

I zapped that shit down though.
__________________

__________________
LMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com