Everything is more complicated for Mac users - Page 2 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2015, 04:31 PM   #16
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 12:03 AM
The bumping of this thread gave me a tiny shred of hope she returned. Alas, no such luck.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 05:01 PM   #17
Blue Crack Addict
 
mikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Black Lodge
Posts: 24,907
Local Time: 05:03 PM
Sorry, but at least you got a thumbs up from Agent Cooper.
__________________

__________________
mikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 01:15 PM   #18
Refugee
 
Cactus Annie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Mighty Jagrafess of the Holy Hadrojassic Maxaroedenfoe
Posts: 2,146
Local Time: 11:03 PM
Now everytime I want to watch a video it keeps on saying Blocked Plug In, and so I click on it and it leads me to adobe flash download, but it still says 'Blocked Plug In' . I've just looked at my downloads and I've got install flash player 1 - 41 and yet it still won't play videos . Why is it being so annoying?

And yet the crappy computer at work which is Windows XP, 15 years out of date, excutiatingly slow, and yet it still plays Youtbe videos with little buffering whenever I scive off.
__________________
Cactus Annie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 01:49 PM   #19
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 12:03 AM
Because you blocked the plugin... it's installed, but blocked. depending on your browser, go to plugins and add ons, enable the adobe flash plugin and it will play.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 01:15 AM   #20
Blue Crack Addict
 
DaveC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: illegitimi non carborundum
Posts: 17,408
Local Time: 06:03 PM
After 8 years of using nothing but a Mac, today I ordered a PC. A damn good gaming one, too. I'm skipping this generation of consoles
__________________
DaveC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 03:27 AM   #21
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 12:03 AM
What did you get? Specs?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 10:07 AM   #22
Blue Crack Addict
 
DaveC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: illegitimi non carborundum
Posts: 17,408
Local Time: 06:03 PM
Everything is more complicated for Mac users

Weird, I can't see my post in the app, it seems to have disappeared. For anyone late to the conversation I said that on Monday I bought a PC after years of exclusively using a Mac (other than at work).

I bought a custom rig from a local computer shop. They're building it now and it's supposed to be shipped today overnight. I can't wait to get it.

I got an AMD 8-core processor, 16 GB of RAM, a 2GB GeForce GTX 750 video card, and a 3TB hard drive. I think I should be good to run most games on high graphics settings with a good frame rate. I liked my Mac for basic tasks but it's utter shat for gaming. That Intel graphics chipset blows. The tipping point for me was when I couldn't even run Cities Skylines on the absolute lowest settings and get a frame rate higher than about 5 fps.
__________________
DaveC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 01:54 PM   #23
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 12:03 AM
Wow you splurged on that one! Pretty damn high end, the 750 is absolutely worth it! only thing I'd suggest adding is an SSD, but that's more of a speed freak thingy

Which games are you aiming to play?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 03:43 PM   #24
Blue Crack Addict
 
DaveC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: illegitimi non carborundum
Posts: 17,408
Local Time: 06:03 PM
Everything is more complicated for Mac users

It wasn't that high end, all together, including a 22" monitor, speakers, keyboard/mouse, and shipping was less than $1100.

Mostly I plan to play games that my PS3 struggled so much with that I couldn't finish them or did only with great patience and many crashes/reloads, games like Deus Ex (the new one), Fallout New Vegas, Skyrim. Also games that were fun but he graphics sucked on PS3 like GTA 5 (I wanted to do the story again but there are points where it's hard to see because of the graphics quality). Plus I'm excited to play things like Fallout and Skyrim with mods. Also I play a lot of sim games like Civilization, the Sims, Kerbal Space Program, and Cities Skylines that played okay on low graphics settings on my Mac, but are going to look incredible with a proper video card.

I also plan on eventually getting an SSD too, I have one in my MacBook Air and it's phenomenal. It would have added an extra $250 to the cost of the build, and I for one don't need it yet and for two know I can get an aftermarket one for way cheaper when the time does come, probably in the fall.
__________________
DaveC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 04:03 PM   #25
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 12:03 AM
250 is a decent price if it's above 500 MB, otherwise you can get 256 for around 100. They're really easy to build in as well.

Ever played Assassin's Creed series? I love those, but sadly my gaming laptop is too old to take on the newest installments. Skyrim was okay, wasn't too impressed but I seem to be the only one lol.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 07:27 PM   #26
Blue Crack Addict
 
DaveC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: illegitimi non carborundum
Posts: 17,408
Local Time: 06:03 PM
Well, so much for that - they completely fucked up my order six ways to Sunday and didn't bother making any effort to inform me for two full days that they weren't going to fulfill it for at least six weeks, so I cancelled it over the phone and sent off an irritated e-mail to their customer service department.

I was super pumped that I found a local shop that would build me a custom set-up for a great price, and ship it to my door within 3-5 business days, and now somewhere like Best Buy is going to get my money, and I'll probably end up with less of a computer than I would have gotten originally. Hooray, I'm off to the mall.
__________________
DaveC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 08:44 PM   #27
Blue Crack Addict
 
mikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Black Lodge
Posts: 24,907
Local Time: 05:03 PM
Lol I just did the opposite and bought my first Mac.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
mikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 02:59 AM   #28
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 12:03 AM
That sucks. You could also get one built by Dell, I've heard mixed reviews on them though. Once I get my own place and room for a desktop, I'm going to build it myself. It's much cheaper and actually not that hard. Perhaps that's an option? Just buyinng the separate parts and take a weekend to connect the dots.

Enjoying it Mikal? Figure you're not a gamer then.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 07:16 AM   #29
Blue Crack Addict
 
mikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Black Lodge
Posts: 24,907
Local Time: 05:03 PM
I love it! Yeah definitely not a gamer. Lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
mikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 04:56 PM   #30
Blue Crack Addict
 
DaveC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: illegitimi non carborundum
Posts: 17,408
Local Time: 06:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galeongirl View Post
That sucks. You could also get one built by Dell, I've heard mixed reviews on them though. Once I get my own place and room for a desktop, I'm going to build it myself. It's much cheaper and actually not that hard. Perhaps that's an option? Just buyinng the separate parts and take a weekend to connect the dots.

Enjoying it Mikal? Figure you're not a gamer then.

I went to Best Buy and bought an HP system. It took half an hour and 3 employees just to find one decently priced monitor that they actually had in stock (and I was the one who actually found it on the stock shelf right in front of my face ) but it's all set up.

I do very much like having the 24" monitor now as opposed to the 13" one on my Mac. I didn't get a chance to try it any games by the time I got it set up last night but my steam downloads should be done now and when I get home from work I'm gonna fire up some games and check out how it really runs
__________________

__________________
DaveC is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com