even newer apple product/updates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I was kind of thinking that if I have an iPhone, how much do I need an iPad?
Really depends.

I can't vouch for the iPad as anything more than a luxury purchase at the moment. It is excellent for staying at home on the coffee table and being your day-to-day digital gateway to things you read, watch, and people you communicate with.

Your mileage may vary as far as using an iPad to actually get work done, though. I know writers like it, students like it, but anything more than lightweight business tasks are less efficient to do than on a laptop.

I can tell you that as a college student, I am able to get things done on a day-to-day basis with an iPad. I take text notes with the excellent Notability app, including math and sketches using a 1$ Dollar Store stylus, review flashcards, read my PDF textbooks, and everything is synced automatically to a Dropbox account so I can get to it anywhere. There is indeed a diminishing productivity curve compared with the complexity of the task with the iPad, though. The more complicated the task (when you get into spreadsheets and such), the less efficient and the more hoops you have to jump through to get things done.

If you are hesitant about how an iPad would fit into your day-today productivity, the best bet is to buy one from a retailer that allows full refund within X days, see if you like the device and if not just return it.

For browsing and tomfoolery, I find an iPad is so much more practical, easy, and enjoyable to use when sitting on the couch watching TV and the like than either a smart phone or laptop.

Necessary? No. Glad I bought one? Big time.