dial-up - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 02:27 AM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
Kristie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: back home again in Indiana
Posts: 6,386
Local Time: 03:12 AM
dial-up

I'm currently using CompuServ, and I'm looking to switch to a different ISP... we're paying $21/month for 5kb/s on a good day.
I was hoping someone here could give me some advice, since all the websites describe themselves as the greatest thing since sliced bread. Anybody have dial-up? Any advice for me?

...I'm in the US, I guess that probably matters
__________________

__________________
Kristie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 09:00 AM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 07:12 PM
Dial Up?


__________________

__________________
bono_man2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 12:25 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:12 AM
I use PeoplePC
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 01:23 PM   #4
She's the One
 
martha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Orange County and all over the goddamn place
Posts: 42,332
Local Time: 12:12 AM
I liked Earthlink dial-up when I had it.
__________________
martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 01:29 PM   #5
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:12 AM
^ me too.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 03:03 PM   #6
Refugee
 
Sevikins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NIMCO, where the dead buses go.
Posts: 2,296
Local Time: 04:12 AM
Being cheap, I used to use a service called MetConnect. It was pretty good for a free ISP, but the downside was that it'd drop me like a hot potato constantly.

I believe it's still available if you know where to look. I think my speed was like around 30kbs... IIRC.
__________________
Sevikins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 03:09 AM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
Kristie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: back home again in Indiana
Posts: 6,386
Local Time: 03:12 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by bono_man2002
Dial Up?


indeed
comcast has some kind of monopoly around here and there is no DSL available... just cable and satellite, both of which are out of our price range
Despite having SBC phone service, their internet service is also not available here.
It sucks.

Lies, I was looking at PeoplePC and thinking it sounded like a good deal. A few questions.. Do you have the accelerated version? Is it actually accelerated?
and since this is my parent's house I'm at for now... is it easy to use? My stepfather's not good with technology.

I seem to remember earthlink not being any less expensive... it has free tech support, but that's what children are for.
__________________
Kristie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 03:27 AM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
Kristie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: back home again in Indiana
Posts: 6,386
Local Time: 03:12 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sevikins
Being cheap, I used to use a service called MetConnect. It was pretty good for a free ISP, but the downside was that it'd drop me like a hot potato constantly.

I believe it's still available if you know where to look. I think my speed was like around 30kbs... IIRC.
their website says they're only available in the NYC area.. too bad
__________________
Kristie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 08:12 AM   #9
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 07:12 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Kristie


indeed
comcast has some kind of monopoly around here and there is no DSL available... just cable and satellite, both of which are out of our price range
Despite having SBC phone service, their internet service is also not available here.
It sucks
Oh I was in the exact same positon until April 2005....Even thought Most Australian broadband plans suck...I now enjoy a 2mb download/256k upload connection with a 60gb limit....

Sure something will become avaliable in the future, i waited about 5 years ....
__________________
bono_man2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 08:14 AM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:12 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Kristie



Lies, I was looking at PeoplePC and thinking it sounded like a good deal. A few questions.. Do you have the accelerated version? Is it actually accelerated?
and since this is my parent's house I'm at for now... is it easy to use? My stepfather's not good with technology.

I like it because you get a month free for starters, so I often sign-up to use on vacation (no other options at the lake) and cancel later on. I've never used any "accelerated" versions because typically that means it compresses image files and a lot of what I do on the 'net involves images. It's very easy to use. However, I never install the disc they give you. It installs the PeoplePC browser, which is annoying. I just sign up online with a debit card and it lets you pick a username and password and then you have access to the phone numbers. This is all you need to use the Windows dial-up connection wizard.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 01:30 AM   #11
Refugee
 
Sevikins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NIMCO, where the dead buses go.
Posts: 2,296
Local Time: 04:12 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Kristie


their website says they're only available in the NYC area.. too bad
Sorry! It's been so long I forgot about their service area.

But I did remember other free services that's availables... I usually just googled in free isps and my state and if anything, I'd get some results. Of course that which is free, comes with a price. I tried some free ones in my areas which were laden with ads when I signed on, would time me out to watch their "advertisements"... sometimes it's more worth it just to shell out the money to get a hassle-free ISP.

What about MSN? Didn't they have a somewhat cheap dialup? Or is that way too late?
__________________
Sevikins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 08:34 AM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:12 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sevikins

What about MSN? Didn't they have a somewhat cheap dialup? Or is that way too late?
We used to have it and it was $14.99, so we switched to PeoplePC ($9.99 with a free month).
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 02:35 PM   #13
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Justin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 6,716
Local Time: 01:12 AM
Comcast and there Monopoly!!! I have SBC(At&t) dsl. 19.99 for DSL Express.
__________________
Justin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 11:08 PM   #14
Blue Crack Distributor
 
tiny dancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: small town Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 87,189
Local Time: 08:12 AM
I have Verizon DSL, and I only pay $14.95 a month.
__________________
Into the heart of a child...
tiny dancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 04:27 PM   #15
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 03:12 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Kristie

there is no DSL available... just cable and satellite, both of which are out of our price range
Despite having SBC phone service, their internet service is also not available here.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com