Data Transfer between Hard Drives - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2007, 09:00 PM   #1
cdisantis83's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Among Badgers
Posts: 1,033
Local Time: 05:37 PM
Data Transfer between Hard Drives

I am looking to purchase a new computer in the near future, and am wondering what the simplest way would be to transfer the contents of my hard drives to the new computer. I suppose that I could physically transfer the slave drive to the new computer, but I am unsure whether it would need to be reformatted for the new system, which will likely be Vista (I am operating XP right now). Any input would be greatly appreciated.

cdisantis83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 10:45 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
onebloodonelife's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,106
Local Time: 05:37 PM
Do you have an external drive? If you do, that would be a good way, or you can buy a external hard drive enclosure, put the old drive in it, and clone the drive...but if you're going from XP to Vista, that might not work, I'm not sure.

onebloodonelife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 10:17 AM   #3
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ntalwar's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,838
Local Time: 06:37 PM
The XP drive as a slave drive should work, even though Vista is a bit weird.
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright ©