Computer Problems :( - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2009, 04:53 AM   #1
Blue Crack Distributor
 
Lila64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ♥Set List Lane♥
Posts: 52,710
Local Time: 05:27 PM
Computer Problems :(

This computer has been acting really weird the last couple of days. The family generally uses this one more than me, and basically uses it to go online. Well, today, we get random pop-ups, even though the pop-up blocker on the toolbar shows as being on (blocking). I don't know if someone went to a website, and now they randomly show up. Also, out of the blue the computer keeps opening tab after tab after tab.... of new web pages (we use Internet Explorer) and can't be stopped. I immediately hit control+alt+delete and close all out all the windows. I ran a scan earlier today, and apparently all was fine (NOD32 installed). Really freaky. And one of the pop-ups that showed up was saying that we had various viruses and to click to download something to "fix it", but of course I did not & closed it out. Any ideas what's happening or how to go about fixing this? It gets quite annoying

I just previewed this post before starting this thread, and got a pop-up for Blender
__________________

__________________
Lila64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 07:21 AM   #2
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 01:27 AM
Sounds like spyware. I suggest downloading ad-aware and run a scan.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 07:29 AM   #3
Refugee
 
adrball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nightclub in Tripoli
Posts: 1,733
Local Time: 01:27 AM
Try downloading Malwarebytes. It's free and the best, imo.

Malwarebytes.org
__________________
adrball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 08:42 AM   #4
Babyface
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
Local Time: 01:27 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galeongirl View Post
Sounds like spyware. I suggest downloading ad-aware and run a scan.
Yes this is some sort of spyware/adware. Make sure you have all the latest updates from Microsoft by visiting Windows Update

I suggest then running Microsoft's Malicious Software removal tool. Click start > run > and enter mrt.exe, click OK and do a full scan (this can take hours).

Also I recommend installing Windows Defender. (or ad-aware, whatever you choose there's no need for both)
NOD32 is usually pretty good, make sure you're keeping it up to date.
__________________
manicmarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:53 PM   #5
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 01:27 AM
Also try SpyBot search and destroy. Its free and its awesome.

The home of Spybot-S&D!
__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:10 PM   #6
The Fly
 
throng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mexico
Posts: 55
Local Time: 06:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MooMoo! View Post
Also try SpyBot search and destroy. Its free and its awesome.

The home of Spybot-S&D!
I second that.

Also... Maybe in the future you may want to start using a firewall, the reason given that several people use that pc and there's not much control over what's happening there. I recommend ZoneAlarm firewall, There's a free version and a pro version. Obviously the pro version is going to work better but you may try with the free one.
__________________
throng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:51 PM   #7
Blue Crack Distributor
 
Lila64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ♥Set List Lane♥
Posts: 52,710
Local Time: 05:27 PM
I believe I have Ad Aware and SpyBot on that computer. I haven't updated them because I thought NOD32 was supposed to take care of that type of issue, no? I can run those 2 later when no one is on the computer. NOD32 automatically updates, and I did run a scan on it yesterday, and all seemed fine.

I'm not sure if there's a firewall on that computer or not

Thanks for all the advice!
__________________
Lila64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 04:37 PM   #8
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 01:27 AM
Yeah be sure to update spybot. You can use it to "immunise" against spyware too.
__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 06:07 PM   #9
Blue Crack Distributor
 
Lila64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ♥Set List Lane♥
Posts: 52,710
Local Time: 05:27 PM
I ran the AdAware, but when I opened Spybot, no files showed in the window, and it wouldn't do anything. I'll see how the computer is running for now after that first scan.
__________________
Lila64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 05:54 PM   #10
The Fly
 
throng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mexico
Posts: 55
Local Time: 06:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lila64 View Post
I believe I have Ad Aware and SpyBot on that computer. I haven't updated them because I thought NOD32 was supposed to take care of that type of issue, no? I can run those 2 later when no one is on the computer. NOD32 automatically updates, and I did run a scan on it yesterday, and all seemed fine.

I'm not sure if there's a firewall on that computer or not

Thanks for all the advice!
NOD32 is an anti-virus, that takes care of the viruses and trojans. But you still need some other software to take care of spyware and adware, Spybot can do that for you. And the firewall it's to block other people (hackers) from accessing to your computer.

It's tedious and it would be great a program that could take care of everything, but oh well...

Good luck.
__________________
throng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 11:13 PM   #11
Blue Crack Distributor
 
Lila64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ♥Set List Lane♥
Posts: 52,710
Local Time: 05:27 PM
I ran Spyware yesterday, but the computer is still acting weird, and we still get pop-ups. I think I updated something with Java recently & I don't know if that could be a problem. My husband thought maybe it could have something to do with Google My daughter was somehow logged into Google (could see her email address on the screen). So we just logged her out and we'll see if that helps. It's just slow & can't open much simultaneously. We could have a Word document open, and one tab in IE Windows, and can go to the Start menu and try & click on something, and nothing happens. Or trying to save the Word document, etc. The computer has a lot on it, but still shows about 9GB empty space (75+ being used). I've tried deleting some stuff, but would have to go thru files one at a time to see what more could be deleted, and don't know if that's really an issue overall.

We just reboot a lot

__________________
Lila64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 11:26 PM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
RedRocksU2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Murrieta, CA.
Posts: 26,437
Local Time: 05:27 PM
I know how to fix it;


















buy a Mac.

__________________
RedRocksU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 11:28 PM   #13
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 07:27 PM
Try deleting temp files (in the browser etc). Percentage-wise 9GB free out of 85GB or so is not much. The disk is cluttered, especially since the programs and data reside on the same physical disk.
__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 12:26 AM   #14
Blue Crack Distributor
 
Lila64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ♥Set List Lane♥
Posts: 52,710
Local Time: 05:27 PM
Buy me a Mac Carlos

ntalwar - do I need to have Windows Defender on this computer along with NOD32, and using AdAware & Spybot? This computer seems to be really f**ked up and strange things keep happening.

P.S. - I already deleted Temp Files by going into the Control Panel, clicking Internet Options, and then deleted only the Temp files
__________________
Lila64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 05:04 AM   #15
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 01:27 AM
Ok, that's odd then. Perhaps you accidentally installed a program that's doing this, like with google toolbar and such. Go to control panel > software
is there anything in that list that is totally unfamiliar to everyone who's been at the pc? If so, that might be the problem.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com