Are you surfing safari browser???? - Page 2 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2007, 12:47 AM   #16
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
DrTeeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Q continuum
Posts: 4,770
Local Time: 08:43 AM

With tabs, you can more easily switch between web pages because you don't have to open a complete new window. You can stay on the page you're reading and have the new link (or several links) load in the background. And it doesn't clutter up your desktop with open windows. Tabs are faster and easier.
__________________

__________________
DrTeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 02:50 AM   #17
Blue Crack Addict
 
deep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: A far distance down.
Posts: 28,501
Local Time: 11:43 PM
I opened this reply in a tab and wrote it in a tab.

I also have five other windows (pages) open, I don't see what the advantage is over tabs or windows.

It is only a question of where you have to go to click between pages.
__________________

__________________
deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 09:09 AM   #18
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:43 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by deep
Why use tabs?

I went to options and checked hide

Why lose sceen space
when I can flip between pages by clicking at the page icons? in the start task bar.

How do you lose screen space with tabs?

If you don't have a Windows bar, then tabs are more efficient. On my PC I don't use the taskbar to navigate and on my Mac...well there isn't one.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 11:56 AM   #19
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:43 AM
*does experiment*

Also, FireFox is using more memory having three windows open than if I have one window with three tabs.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 09:14 PM   #20
Blue Crack Addict
 
deep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: A far distance down.
Posts: 28,501
Local Time: 11:43 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Liesje
*does experiment*

Also, FireFox is using more memory having three windows open than if I have one window with three tabs.
I kind of assumed that would be the case.

But all of my connections are broadband and real fast and I guess I have enough ram, etc.

I do not auto hide windows start / task bar at bottom of screen. I like to be able to look at the time in the left bottom corner when ever with out having to mouse down to bring it up.

So with the task bar visible and the tabs bar both running across my screen it would reduce the vertical viewing space on my screen.

I do understand that the tabs and auto-hide on the task bar would be use less memory.

I guess I am just set in my ways.
__________________
deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 09:16 PM   #21
Blue Crack Addict
 
deep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: A far distance down.
Posts: 28,501
Local Time: 11:43 PM
I have only tried to use a Mac once or twice and that missing task bar did mess me up.

If I were a Mac'in

I'd be a Tab'in.
__________________
deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 10:01 PM   #22
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:43 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by deep


I kind of assumed that would be the case.

But all of my connections are broadband and real fast and I guess I have enough ram, etc.

I do not auto hide windows start / task bar at bottom of screen. I like to be able to look at the time in the left bottom corner when ever with out having to mouse down to bring it up.

So with the task bar visible and the tabs bar both running across my screen it would reduce the vertical viewing space on my screen.

I do understand that the tabs and auto-hide on the task bar would be use less memory.

I guess I am just set in my ways.
I don't auto-hide either, I have mine on my left side, with a "dock" at the top (like a Mac dock, but for a PC).

I've got 2 gigs of RAM and FireFox is still pretty greedy. Also, the "memory" open applications use isn't just the RAM, its the "virtual memory" which is like a combination of RAM, the CPU, and the cache. Even with 2 gigs of RAM, if I have the same FireFox window open for like two days, the computer gets angry. Tabbed browsing also eats up memory, just not quite as much as multiple windows.

Anyway, if you don't like tabs, you don't like tabs, but I don't see how a buggy Safari is any improvement over IE or FireFox. I HATE IE and I'd chose IE7 over the current Safari release.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 01:21 AM   #23
Blue Crack Addict
 
deep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: A far distance down.
Posts: 28,501
Local Time: 11:43 PM
Ok

I am tabbing on my year old dell laptop right now.

To see if I will like it. I got auto hide on, too.

I do appreciate all the information you are sharing.


I may move my task bar to the side, too.

And I will not d/l safari anytime, soon.
__________________
deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 10:46 AM   #24
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:43 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by deep
Ok

I am tabbing on my year old dell laptop right now.

To see if I will like it. I got auto hide on, too.

I do appreciate all the information you are sharing.


I may move my task bar to the side, too.

And I will not d/l safari anytime, soon.
I have mine on the side mainly b/c when I'm doing web work, I'll have like 3 FireFox windows, several folders, Picasa, FireWorks, DreamWeaver, JAlbum, etc all open at once so with the taskbar on the bottom, there's not enough space for all those windows. If you put it on the side, then you can have like 25 windows open and they will stack. Also, I used to use like 20 QuickLaunch buttons and no icons on the desktop, so with all those open windows and QuickLaunch buttons, it helped to have the taskbar on the side. Now I use a dock at the top of my screen instead of QuickLaunch, but I'm used to the taskbar on the side. I'll post a screen shot when I get home. My co-workers thought it looked dumb and then three months later sure enough half of them have a taskbar on the left side. Also, I think it's just easier to read - more at eye level - than it being on the very bottom, especially with a laptop that is not elevated like a CRT.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 05:15 PM   #25
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:43 AM
Here is my personal laptop (work is setup the same, but no dock on the PC, yes dock on the Mac)



See I already have lots of windows open, so the stack better on the side than on the bottom.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com