Why Some Christians Don't Eat Kosher

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AEON

Rock n' Roll Doggie Band-aid
I have seen a lot of discussion regarding why most Christians do not obey all of the Old Testament laws (especially those in Leviticus), while at the same time quoting Leviticus to support other laws. At first glance, this seems like Cut and Paste Theology as well as just plain, outright hypocrisy. To be honest, I used to have the same problem. As a matter of fact – I used to attack Christians pretty harshly because they allowed the Old Testament in the Bible.

Before I tackle this subject, I should probably give you a little background about myself. I am in my mid thirties and I am currently in my third year of seminary. However, I have not always been a Christian. I hope to either be a pastor or a professor some day. I am also about ready graduate from Officer Candidate School for the Army National Guard.

I had the usual crappy childhood (no active father, disengaged mother, abusive step-parents..etc) Somehow, my grandparents imparted on me a little of the Catholic faith that would prove to be the seeds of my own conversion later in life.

In my late teens and twenties – I was a self-proclaimed atheist (and adamant follower of Ayn Rand). In college I double majored in Philosophy and English Lit before succumbing to the worldly pressure of MIS. However, while studying Plato – I became convinced that God existed. After that, the next question was “if God exists – what kind of God is he?” Needless to say, after several more years of searching I found myself back in a Catholic Church and studying the Bible.