Universal Healthcare - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Free Your Mind > Free Your Mind Archive
Click Here to Login

Old 04-23-2007, 07:44 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie

Local Time: 03:06 PM
Universal Healthcare

I'd like to use this thread to talk about this major issue whether it be facts, questions, thoughts, etc. I'm by no means an expert on this, but would like to have a well informed opinion. As a future physician, any such plan would have a dramatic impact on my career.

I think most people agree that in theory, this sounds like a good idea. The current state of healthcare in this country is poor to very poor (perhap I'm being modest). You can blame almost everyone involved in the system so it's by no means an easy fix.

Do people think that major change can actually happen? I'm rather skeptical that anything truly major can get done because of the powerful lobbys that Healthcare and Big Pharma have - I don't see them doing anything that would cut into there bottom line.

What is the biggest issue in healthcare for you guys - access, cost, something else?

If universal healthcare was implemented, what system would people want? A government run program ala medicare for everyone? Would you want the option to buy supplemental coverage - sort of like a platinum membership that gets you more things than the basic coverage? Or should everyone have the same coverage no matter what? Would a completely privatized system be better?

As of right now, I don't really favor any government run program just because of the way government handles things - they don't have a good tract record on running things properly. I also think that it could create a very segregated system where people that can afford extra service will still get better care than everybody else, which sort of defeats the purpose of universal care. Although, everyone would still have some sort of access to basic care.

Old 04-23-2007, 07:57 PM   #2
Blue Crack Supplier